installation question - cannot connect to VOIP provider

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by smalley2, Oct 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smalley2

Hi community,

I'm new to SIP and 3CX, but I really like what I see so far.
    I have one question to a problem I can't figure out.

I am trying to configure my VOIP service.

I have added a new 'generic' VOIP provider called 'netstar'. I have entered all of the parameters one might expect in the various dialogs.

Unfortunately my system will not register with the provider. I have used the exact same parameters in the 3CX phone app, and they work perfectly there.

All the system log says is:

15:42:48.937 [CM504007]: Next attempt to register 10000@netstar is scheduled in 5 minute
    15:42:48.937 [CM504005]: Registration failed for: 10000@netstar; Cause: 404 Not found; from IP:206.193.221.32:5060
    15:42:48.812 [CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10000@netstar

Is there any other debug or logging data that will help me diagnose this? I've already turned on VERBOSE logging, but I don't seem to get any more logging output in the log.

I know that the provider is working because the 3CX phone app works fine.

thanks

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

It looks like it can't connect to the IP in the log, could it be a firewall issue in the computer? Have you forwarded the necessary ports in your router to the 3CX PC? Does your SIP server trunk datafill have an IP or a location something like... sip.netstar.com,(or what ever it might be).

3. smalley2

Hi there, I've checked my firewall and router port configuration, all seems ok. I'm using only IP numbers for all of the settings.
    If I do a port test, i.e. telnet sip.netstar.com 5060 I can get a connection ok, so I think connectivity wise all is ok.