Integration with existing setup - can it be done?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Sagewah, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all!

    Somebody, somewhere, thought it would be great if all their remote employees could call people in head office by extension and make calls to the outside world through the PBX. Somebody else thought it would be a great idea to get me to do it.

    I'm starting to feel pretty certain they were mistaken. :?

    The situation: The existing setup is a bunch of phones in head office controlled by a panasonic digitla PBX. There's some magic in the pbx that routes calls to the branch office through a cisco 2600 (via two E&M lines). The 2600, for its part, has some trickery that sends those calls over the private link to the branch office where all this happens in reverse so we can talk to the chairwarmers up there.

    So far, so good. Nothing really mystical about it; the dial plan on the cisco is pretty simplistic.

    That has worked so well for them that they now want to send out private links to all their home workers, supply said home workers with linksys PAP2T boxes and give them the power of speech.

    Now, I had a bit of a crack at making these boxes work a while back with a carefully crafted dial plan on the cisco, and it sort of worked. But sort of didn't. It wasn't very cool, and I had to make all sorts of ugly configs and so on and so forth.

    Then I found this 3CX business and thought it might be the key. But I'm not having as much fun as I'd hoped. Currently, I can dial from an existing phone to the PAP box, but not the other way. Worse, the call terminates after about 3 seconds; the server says that the PAP box / phone send the hangup.

    I've spent some time sketching out the current master plan for the site; anybody who is interested but is completely confused by what I've just written can find it at http://www.supafunds.com.au/phoneplan.pdf . If it helps any, we'll be upgrading the 2600's to 2800s very shortly and whacking in an 1841 for the main link.

    TIA!
     
  2. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    3cx should be able to do it. the problem is your home workers as you might not be able to control the bit of network between our HQ and the working bees.

    Whilst they are warming themselfs to the linksys boxes they might not get the calls. So how to go about it ?

    Well each linksys box should registere themselfs as an extension onto the PBX.

    So why not get a few good phones and do it that way, half the cost and twice the whammy i think.

    In theory this can work but in praktice it might be a bit fiddly.
    Where are you located?
     
  3. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in sunny (freezing) Brisbane :)

    I did suggest that ip phones would be the way to go - linksys have some new ones that look quite nice - but the ATA boxes we significantly cheaper. What's even worse is that I don't have direct access to the PBS - although I'm sure I can find a way. :)
     
  4. Borsoock

    Borsoock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I'm testing 3CX in a bit similar environment. I've connected 3CX to the office AVAYA IP pbx by ordinary analog line and SPA3102 (my Avaya is H323 ver, so I couldn't integrate this 2 systems other way :( ). 3CX has 3 digits dialplan and several remote extensions (softphones, pap2t, spa 3102 etc.). Avaya has 4 digits dial plan. There are separate rules configured on 3CX for calling office extensions and external phone numbers through Avaya. Examples:

    If 3CX ext would like to call Office ext on Avaya, '9' prefix should be added

    If 3CX ext would like to call external number but through Avaya, '0' prefix should be added. Call goes to Avaya and then out through Avaya's PRI interface.

    Calling from the office ext to 3CX ext is a bit tricky: Gateway number must be dialed first (ext 1108) Digital receptionist is answering and then 3CX ext number must be entered by DTMF.

    Thanks

    Marcin
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Well half you luck, so am I.

    Must say it is bloody cold.

    http://www.dayboro.info/localweather/wdl.html

    Who said brisbane was warm...... climate change.... global warming...... you gotta be kidding :).

    Oh that weather station is in my back yard.

    Give me a call tomorrow on (07) 3129-0672 and we can have a chat to work this out :).
     
  6. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks like a pretty sweet setup - although for most of the last few years you could have painted the words "Beautiful, sunny, and bloody dry" on a rock and used that for forecasting ;) I might just take you up on that offer and give you a call tomorrow, got a fairly full on day - got the phone project, a nasty database migration and a nasty other database migration to do before I head off for my wedding :)

    Boorsock: that's quite tricky :) I started out playing with h.323 because the cisco gear prefers it, but SIP is cheaper overall... I never got them to talk to each other though, you've done well :)
     
  7. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Well like we all do in aussie land....... relax :).

    When ever you got time mate, either give me a call or drop me a line.

    Wedding comes first I guess, do not want to get off on the wrong foot already :).

    Congrats by the way :).
     
  8. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    One question: what is it on the display of user's PC?
     
  9. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I could relax :( I'm in the unfortunate position of a)being responsible for the site and b)being the only bozo who can do this. My boss has realised this and is doing everything in his power to get the important bits sorted. By tomorrow night. I think it's going to be a very long shift... :)

    And I started drawing stick figure porn on the monitor but had an attack of conscience and censored it :)
     
  10. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    always good.

    Well let me know how you go and where you need help.
     
  11. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, nice sketch, btw :)
    All of us try to relax time to time, and good sence of humor is of great help in it :)
    About your Vision - I think Henk could help you better than I atm, but I've promised him to help you both as much as I can :)
     
  12. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for everything so far guys :)

    I'm up to my armpits in other woes at the moment, but I'll give you an overview of where i'm up to:

    - I can make calls to the phone (extn 4305) from the internal existing network (extn 9119) . I did the dance of joy when it worked, which took some explaining.

    - I've got dial tone on the handset, but when I try to dial out it returns a busy signal and this pops up in the log:

    Code:
    10:57:35.370 CallConf::onIncoming [CM003002] Call(17): Destination not available for call from sip:4305@192.168.1.80 to sip:9119@192.168.1.80 
    10:57:35.370 CallConf::Rejected [CM103005] Call(17) is rejected: Destination does not exist, or is not registered 
    10:57:35.354 CallConf::onIncoming [CM103002] Call(17): Incoming call from 4305 (Ext.4305) to sip:9119@192.168.1.80 
    
    This is with the PAP2 using the 3CX server as an outbound proxy. If I try to use the cisco router as an outbound proxy, I get nothing - although I know it should be possible as I've managed it before.

    Henk - I might give you a call when the craziness here has died down a little bit :)

    cheers guys!
     
  13. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Argh! ran out of time!!!

    I'm just logging in before I head off to my wedding, so I can't spend any time working on this. However, my boss (a decent enough bloke called Ian) will be picking up the torch. Henk, would it be alright if he maybe gave you a call? I'll give him the link to this thread and see if he can succeed where I failed.

    thanks again for the help so far; I'll be back in a fortnight to see if it works :)
     
  14. Sagewah

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm baa-aaack!

    Allo all!

    Sorry I had to drop the ball there; the wedding snuck up on me and stoped me from continuing!

    Anyways, the good (bad?) news is that I'm back. I left my boss in charge so I'm still cleaning up; hopefully I'll be able to get some work done on this very shortly though. Henk, is it still OK if I give you a call to beg some words of advice?
     
  15. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Sure not a problem.

    Just try between 5:30 and 6:30 pm ish, that is when I am in the office. Ill be out on client sites again from 6:30 but the 3CX IVR will route the call accordingly.

    PS. my extension is 200
     

Share This Page