inter-AP handovers

Discussion in 'Android' started by spanjer, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spanjer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are testing an android with the 3cx app. In our Wifi enviroment we use mutliple access points. During roaming from one to an other ap the voiceconnection is lost. the signal is dropping below the value for a good handover.
    Is there a possibility to tune some values voor roaming.
    for example -65 dBm will cause the phone to scan for alternate Wireless APs more often, which will result in more wireless
    traffic and slightly decreased battery life. A smaller value, for example -75 dBm will cause the phone to roam too late, causing voice or connection interruptions during roaming.
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using WiFi you will get drops between access points. This is the big drawback to using WiFi in a large location. There are WiFi solutions out there that allow for roaming between access points but they are fairly expensive. You typical Cisco,Linksys,D-Link, etc will not hand off a call properly between AP's.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. spanjer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    We Have the "expensive" solution. We already use our wifi for voice purposes. Other WLAn voice devices are working well between APs.
    For example the sipdroid app does not disconnect, but audio is out for a few seconds. The 3cx app droppes audio as well as the wifi connection.
    However the 3cx app is working much better regarding to call transfers and audio quality. So, hope there is an solution for the handovers
     
  4. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    81
    Hi,

    This isn't something we have tested.
    We will keep it in mind for a future release but this isn't something likely to be fixed / implemented any time soon as we are currently focusing on more "General" issues rather than features such as Inter-AP Handovers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mactrekr

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe I've discovered the root of this issue. I too am attempting to use 3CX on our SIP/VoiP system, and while it works pretty well sitting in one spot, it will almost always drop when a handoff between AP's is performed. I believe this has to do with the WiFi/Radio firmware. It simply hangs onto the current connection until it is too weak. If someone could write firmware that would associate with a new AP prior to dropping the old connection, then I think this would work beautifully. I believe this type of driver/firmware is used in dedicated Voip WiFi phones. Any software geniuses out there wanna take a crack at this?
     
  6. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    i havent used any WiFi phones that will handover properly. This seems to require a communication with the AP's and is not simply a software issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.