Internal / external calls

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by voipbaennjer, Jul 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. voipbaennjer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it force any problems when I'm dialing external calls without a prefix?
    I've setup my 3CX with 3 digit extensions and no prefix for outgoing calls, I only specify the extensions that can use a particular line in that outbound rule.

    So far I have no difficulties.

    Any comments or suggestions?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ec268

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    We never set prefix for external call since first installion, it almost 3 years. No problem so far ~
     
  3. wzaatar

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agree and confirm. No need to make any special configuration. 3CX works flawlessly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. voipbaennjer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a telephone service technician I grew up with "old fashioned" PBXs (first relay switched then electronic systems later ISDN), sometimes up to 4096 ports. But all of them needed a prefix to seize an outgoing line.
    That's why I'm a bit surprised 3CX works without. Which is fine, because if in the past someone wanted tu use one of our phones you allways had to tell him "dial 0 to get an outgoing line".

    Now this times are gone thanks to 3CX.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,758
    Likes Received:
    286
    I guess it would depend on whether there was a conflict between outside numbers and internal extensions or voice mail access. If you lived in a region, say North America, and you lived in an area with a couple of area codes, say 360 and 206, AND all outside local numbers required 10 digit dialling, then, unless you had an extension that was 360 or 206, you'd be OK. In some countries, all outside numbers start with a "0", probably no problem. If you lived in an area where you could dial 7 digit local numbers then there is a possibility of a NXX / extension conflict.

    Some people have a POTS line (or multiple) and a VoIP provider (or two) and so want to be able to direct calls using an 9 or 8 as a prefix/access digit.
     
  6. wzaatar

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    In that case, I'd guess he could use the number length as an extra constraint so that dialing rules apply.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. voipbaennjer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 3-digit extensions start with 200 because there are 2 3-digit outside numbers (110 and 112 for emergency). All other local and long distance numbers are longer then 3 digits.
    I tested the case that a local number and an extension began with the same digits (ext. 735 and local number 735xxx).
    It worked, I could reach both the extension and the outbound number depending on what number would have been dialed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. wzaatar

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Effectively,

    There should not be any issues.

    Glad things are working fine for you ;)

    W.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.