Internal IP address changed

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by voice11, Jan 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. voice11

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there,
    I had setup a test lab with V15.5, had couple window clients provisioned which worked fine. I had to restart the computer & now it has a different internal IP address & phones no longer work. Outside facing IP is static but internal seem to keep changing. After reading I un-installed & reinstalled with backup copy...but same thing. I didn't get option for static IP for internal IP. Can someone advise a fix pls? Having to re-provision phones every time computer starts is no fun lol. Thank you in advance.
     
  2. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    77
    It's pretty easy to change your Windoze or linux to a static IP. Google it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. neville

    neville New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    33
    Is this on windows or Linux? You are using DHCP. Either set a static ip on the 3CX or set a reservation on DHCP for the correct IP address.
     
    voice11 likes this.
  4. voice11

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its Debian on Vmware. I have static IP.... even before the re-install. But problem is that static is for external, but my internal IP keeps changing. Before it was 192.168.1.11, now its 192.168.1.8 and I don't find option to change/manually input the internal IP.
     
  5. voice11

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you neville. I knew it was pretty basic but was looking at wrong places. I was able to reserve IP on the router itself. Changing IP on 3CX didn't really work for me, but that's fine I am able to do what I was trying. Thank you.
     
  6. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    219
    Edit the /etc/network/interfaces file with nano or other editor. You should have something like this (for Debian 9 Stretch):

    nano /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    allow-hotplug ens192
    auto ens192
    iface ens192 inet static
        address 192.168.1.100/24
        gateway 192.168.1.1
    dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.