Internal network with extensions

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by abc, May 16, 2007.

1. abc

abc

Hi, I'm new to this software and am wondering if I can set up an internal network for 2 wireless VoIP phones such that they can talk to each other like a walkie talkie via a router, if I have a pc set up with the 3CX software. This network is not connected to the internet so I'm wondering if it will work and how. Thanks for the help.

2. silentfun

silentfun Member

in fact you need no internet connection - perhaps for licence check put i don

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Which ones do you have? Some of them come as a full blown SIP phone and you might not even need an IPPBX.

Like SilentFun said, should work like a charm.

3CX is NOT dependent on an internet connection (other than downloading it) it can happy sit on a box that is not connected to any network at all (appart from your ip phones).

In your case....

I assume with wireless you mean WiFI and not DECT. If that is the case you can set up each phone as an extension and you should be on your way.

any problems let us know :lol:

4. abc

abc

Thanks. But I'm still having trouble configuring the phone. It is a Linksys WIP 300. It's the only one I found on the market that is VoIP, SIP and wireless. I have configured the phone to have a static ip with mask of 255.255.255.0

On top of that I tried the 3cx adding of extension for the phone. But it doesn't seem to be registering. I'm not sure what went wrong and not sure how to fix the problem. I don't even know the possible sources of errors. Like I set the domain ip wrong or something since the definition of the ip of the server is not clear in the manual.

5. abc

abc

hmm... Apparently, I used the 3CX softphone and it worked. But with the same configurations for ip, id and password, my wireless VoIP phone just refuses to register.

6. silentfun

silentfun Member