IP PBX behind IP PBX?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by metroman, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi... I just set up my new 3cx install, but I have one at another location with a TON of PRI's.

    So the question is: Can I configure a 3CX extension on my BIG pbx at 192.168.0.10 and have that extension appear as a VoIP Trunk on my Smaller 3CX pbx at 192.168.0.16?

    How would you configure the Ports and STUN server to be?

    How would I do all of this?

    Thanks!
    Trevor.
     
  2. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    You can hook up a 3CX to a 3CX PBX.

    How the extensions from one will appear on the other one I do not know.

    But what you want to do is possible in theory, you need the enterprise version for that I believe.
     
  3. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Henk, thanks for the answer. I also want an extension from a SIPX server to show up as a line on my 3cx machine as well.

    I come from the TDM PBX world, and taking an analog line and feeding it right back into another PBX as a trunk is done daily around here!

    I want it to be when i dial an extension number, say 1100, that it will ring at the other pbx as a voip line at extension say 10000, and that the Automated attendant will pick it up. I just don't know if a proxy server is needed in there or is this possible at all.

    Thanks!
    Keep those answers comming! :D
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it is possible and between two 3CX PBX will work exactly as you've described. No additional SIP proxies necessary.
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    These guys at 3CX make it all way to easy i recon :). Now everybody can become a VoIP expert. I guess I go back and work on the farm again.

    I have not done the PBX to PBX but will try soon as more and more customers of mine become interested in that. So time to flush the old "dust" out of the box and get it going.
     
  6. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Archie, I tried it last night, adn coulden't get it to work. I have both system on the same subnet to test at the moment.

    I set the the big 3cx PBX which is head office to have ext 1000 as an extension, adn with the user id password etc etc to match.

    The branch PBX, whose address is 192.168.1.10, is set to have a VoIP line with the registrar/proxy as the head office PBX at 192.168.1.16, port 5060, the Outbound proxy at 192.168.1.16, port 5060, and finally STUN server as 192.168.1.16, port 3478.

    It does say it's registered as 10000 - Line Number 1000.... registered and Idle, and on the head office PBX it says registered and Idle as an IP extension. However, athe the head offce, when I dial 1000 or branch office when i dial 10000 is alwaing is unavaliable"


    I think i might have wrecked the port settings....
    Any Thoughts?

    Thanks!
     
  7. nickybrg

    nickybrg Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    15
    Never tried but worth testing... ... ...

    so - this is a very interestting post - we have never simulated this. I am going to give you a suggestion - in theory it should work - I will test this ASAP.

    You have the big PBX IP address .10. Create an extension - lets name it Small office - give it credentials and the usual settings.

    Go on the small PBX .16 - create a VoIP line - Give as IP address the IP address of the Big PBX - 192.168.0.10 , you can leave stun server empty. (because it is already set in the general settings).
    Click on next and start entering number details - the extension number you specified in the big pbx .10, auth ID anhd password ; the credentials to created the extension with, create any rule of you want (but leave for now - do it later - just keep it basic) and create VOIP provider line (which is the small PBX wanting to register as an extension which is part of the large PBX).

    You should see that the extension on the .10 should register.

    1) Stun servers are out of the equation - both your PBX are on the same network- .10 and .16.
    2) The Extension on the big PBX must have the Extension is external UNCHECKED. The small PBX is just like a hardware phone waiting to register on the same network. The extension is internal.
    3) The internal number on the voip provider (small pbx) doesnt matter ok.
    4) go on the extension - (of .10) go in the settings, Destination unreachable / forwarding, and arrange Busy Detection to "Use Phone Status".

    I will really try to set up this scenario. See if it works like this and keep me posted.
     
  8. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Nickybrg, I set it up and it now has regestered extensions as registered VoIP lines on each machine, so it has been tried both ways.... It still gives me the "Unavaliable" propt right away when i try to dial the line or extension depending on which side i'm trying, but they are BOTH registered.....arrrgh!

    Thanks!
     
  9. nickybrg

    nickybrg Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    15
    so they are both registered - you can confirm that for me??? the extension and the Voip line (small pbx) are registered. And what is giving you the unavailable prompt? The softphone / sipphone??

    Can you check the server status and maybe try to make a call and send me the logs it generates? Maybe we can pick up some info from there. but I am very positive about this.
     
  10. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey nickybrg,

    yes they are both registered, and even after getting the unaviliable prompt, they still remain avaliable. The prompt comes form the X-Lite softphones we're using ion our lab setup, newest version.

    Here's the log gfrom when i try to dial ext 10,000 which is the external voip line that is registered from extension 1000....kerep an eye on the 1000 vs 1000 they look so similar in the log!!

    10:08:07.088 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM003002] Call(20): Destination not available for call from sip:1000@192.168.0.10:5060 to sip:10000@192.168.0.10:5060
    10:08:07.088 StratInOut::initialize [CM004003] Call(20): Can't call external line DN
    10:08:07.010 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(20): Incoming call from 1000 (Ext.1000) to sip:10000@192.168.0.10:5060
    08:42:45.603 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1003
    08:42:45.416 ServRegs::eek:nRemove [CM113003] Unregistered: Ext.1003
    08:22:45.197 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1003
    08:22:44.994 ServRegs::eek:nRemove [CM113003] Unregistered: Ext.1003
    07:57:18.885 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1003
    07:35:48.338 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1000
    07:35:47.916 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1000
    07:34:00.244 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM003002] Call(19): Destination not available for call from sip:1000@192.168.0.10:5060 to sip:10000@192.168.0.10:5060
    07:34:00.244 StratInOut::initialize [CM004003] Call(19): Can't call external line DN
    07:34:00.150 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(19): Incoming call from 1000 (Ext.1000) to sip:10000@192.168.0.10:5060
    07:33:54.525 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1000
    07:33:54.197 ServRegs::eek:nRemove [CM113003] Unregistered: Ext.1000
    07:33:53.916 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.1000
    07:13:21.025 ClientRegs::eek:nSuccess [CM113005] Registration of sip:1000@192.168.0.16 is successful
    07:13:20.244 ExtLine::Register [CM110004] Send registration for <sip:1000@192.168.0.16>
    07:13:20.244 ExtLine::Register [CM110001] Use External IP for device line registration DN='10000' device='Other 3CX'
    07:13:19.947 StunClient::process [CM115002] STUN resolved external IP=74.59.101.176:5060 by server 80.239.235.209
    07:13:19.822 StunClient::process [CM115001] Send initial STUN request to 80.239.235.209
    06:53:20.431 ClientRegs::eek:nSuccess [CM113005] Registration of sip:1000@192.168.0.16 is successful
    06:53:20.010 ExtLine::Register [CM110004] Send registration for <sip:1000@192.168.0.16>
    06:53:20.010 ExtLine::Register [CM110001] Use External IP for device line registration DN='10000' device='Other 3CX'
     
  11. pirkaiia

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still see that u use a STUN server:

    07:13:19.947 StunClient::process [CM115002] STUN resolved external IP=74.59.101.176:5060 by server 80.239.235.209
    07:13:19.822 StunClient::process [CM115001] Send initial STUN request to 80.239.235.209

    You dont need that here.

    Pirkaiia
     
  12. metroman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did this thread die? It's a pity.... I was going to run 15 PBX's behing one big one....

    No Takers?
     
  13. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Always interested,

    but 15 pbx's that is only a small installation :). (just kidding)

    Where are you located (countrie wise).
     

Share This Page