Is it possible to recover Lets SSL Security key without a Version 15 backup?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by LiscardGP, Oct 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LiscardGP

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    So here is what happened :-(

    I attempted to upgrade from Version 14 to 15. Did so after reading all documentation and the process completed without any errors. However the PBX simply did not work. Could not identify fault after many hours trying so rolled back to version 14 without making a version 15 backup. My only excuse was that I was a bit frustrated at the time :oops:

    Anyway is it the case that the SSL certificate I created during the failed upgrade to version 15 would have been saved in a backup, had I made one?

    If so, is it possible to recover it and attempt to install version 15 using the same FQDN (which I assume is now linked to my License key)?

    Thanks in advance for any replies.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Likely won't exist now.. but perhaps you have Previous Versions (volume shadow copies) available?

    C:\Program Files\3CX Phone System\Bin\nginx\conf\instance1 is where you'd find the cert/key pair of files.

    You may need to slap them into openssl somewhere to generate a PFX before 14 can do something with them.
    I've been mired in 15 for so long I forgot how 14's certs even worked.. I know they weren't required for install like 15!..
     
  3. LiscardGP

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ian

    Unfortunately not possible to recover certificate that way as I restored the drive from a backup made before 15 was installed.

    After this experience I think I would rather use my own FQDN and SSL.

    My domain is registered with Namecheap who do provide certificates, but I simply do not know how to set it all up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    If you opted for a 3CX FQDN the first time and the SSL was auto generated then your key is bound to that FQDN.
    So if you run through the installer again use the same key and when you re asked for an FQDN opt for a 3CX again and use the same hostname. The certificates will be generated again.

    If you would like to use your own FQDN then you must provide the certificates for it. The installer will ask you for the certificates and will apply them automatically.
     
  5. LiscardGP

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi YiannisH,

    Thank you for that information.

    Very helpful and answers my question completely. Hopefully problem solved.

    Many thanks :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.