Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Is it possible....

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by TheBigEye, Mar 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheBigEye

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an Avaya phone system in my main office. I'd like to setup a 3cX system there to create an extension to my office in another city. Ideally, a call would be able to be transferred from the Avaya phone system to my extension on the 3cx system. I assume I would use a voip gateway, but how would I connect the phone/system to my Avaya system?
     
  2. landfiets

    landfiets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    We need some more info. Tell us about the Avaya system, what is it and how does it work.
    Why don' t you only use the 3CX system? It depends if you want to have only voip or also some pots (analogue) phones in your system. Just tell us more about what you have, what you use and what your intentions are.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TheBigEye

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have an avaya phone number (non-pbx) which is pure analog.... we have 10 physical pots lines that come into the avaya system. I have a remote office in another city, but all of the calls are answered at the main office. Calls need to be transfered from one office to the other and I thought that using a voip system would assist with the transfering of calls between offices. Can this be done and can 3cx do this?
     
  4. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your best answer is use 3CX everywhere. Setup a PSTN gateway (4 port FXO and an 8 port FXO) to connect your 10 analog lines. This will bring the calls into 3CX.
    Otherwise you will have to have phone #'s setup to transfer to as extensions in avaya to call 3CX. Not a pretty approach or easy for users to remember that you are crossing systems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. landfiets

    landfiets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with RobLloyd. Please try to let 3CX be the main system and the gateway is to get the phonelines in.
    Why don' t you try to make those pots lines also voiplines? So everything is voip. Here in Holland you can transfer your old analogue lines into voiplines with another provider and keeping the numbers. Maybe something for you?
    Gateways are expensive and with only voip you can manage everything.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.