Is This Possible?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by markwalsham, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. markwalsham

Hi everyone,

Hope your all well. Let me first say that I am very very new to telephony, although have had extensive experience of Windows Workstation and Server installs and configurations. I have a part-time role at my local school, where I help out with their IT etc. They run an fairly old PBX system, with two analogue lines. Typical for a school, they have wired Ethernet in all rooms locations.

The problem is this. The school lines (one incoming and two outgoing) get very congested on a regular basis, with people calling in to notify of absences and general questions.

I can see that some form of IP based phone system and server controlled telephony solution, with something like Automatic Attendant with Voicemail seems to be an ideal solution. A recommendation was made of 3CX for this purpose.

What I am asking, basically, is what exactly do I need to do a very modest install to handle incoming, outgoing and voicemail, with a simple IP phone implementation?

I have a tight (nearly non-existent) budget.

I am guessing, I will need:-

1. Server Hardware - A machine capable of running Win2k3 Server (or higher).
    2. Ethernet interface.
    3. Analogue to IP Interface Card (?)
    4. 3CX Software.
    5. Standards Based IP phones (Patton units?)
    6. Analogue Phone Lines.

Any advice is greatly appreciated and if you require any more detail, please let me know. As stated above, this is all very very new to me, and want to get a sense of how much I can do DIY.

Cheers, Mark.

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member