IVR stopped recognizing extensions

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by scythe000, Mar 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scythe000

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason, a couple of days ago, the Voicemail system, when called from outside, doesn't recognize any extensions when we input them. Any ideas???
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,754
    Likes Received:
    286
    Just on outside calls? Call options to VM system internally, functioning correctly?

    Does it recognise that DTMF is being sent, or just doesn't react at all?

    What type of trunking are you using? A gateway? There could be an issue with how DTMF is being received and passed on to 3CX.
     
  3. scythe000

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just have a t1 line with dids. There's an IAD attached. Everything works fine internally.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,754
    Likes Received:
    286
    T1 to a gateway I assume? What model? Someone else might have seen the same issue. Have you tried a reset (power down/power up) on the gateway? On the 3CX

    Were any updates/changes made to anything just before you noticed the issue?
     
  5. scythe000

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a Patton SmartNode 4960VoIP IAD.

    So, you may be right. Our previous T-1 provider migrated to a new owner, and they came in and set up an adtran going over our data connection for our IAD to plug into, instead of the T-1 line. Sounds like it may not be passing DTMF along, yeah?
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,754
    Likes Received:
    286
    If something stops working, and something was changed at the same time, then yes, I'd suspect that change probably has something to do with it. It may just be something that is not set correctly.

    I would do a test...call someone, (or have someone call you), that uses a standard, analogue desk phone. The older type that will send DTMF as log as the key is depressed. During the call, have them send some DTMF tones to you. Are the tones there at all, get cut off (very short burst), low level, distorted ? If they don't sound right, then get your new provider involved, hell, get them involved anyway since the change that they made seems to have caused the problem. If the DTMF doesn't seem to get through during your test, then at least you have something to prove the problem when they show up.
     
  7. scythe000

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thank you, that's great feedback.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.