linksys 3120 people please help

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by iperez_genius, Jul 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iperez_genius

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    under WAN setup on this gateway,

    i have both the static ip and gateway address set to the address of the linksys...is that correct?

    I also have the static ip address in the LAN setup set to the ip address of the gateway...is that correct?

    the primary DNS is the address of the router.

    here are some more details
    they all start with 192.168.43
    my server is
    .222
    i have a node .7
    another node .5
    router .1
    linksys 3120 - .3


    can someone enlighten me on my issue...have i set this up right?

    Ilan
     
  2. Cjay

    Cjay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you using the 3102 behind another router (so purely as a telephony device) or are you using the 3102 as your main router connecting directly to your ISP?

    Chris
     
  3. iperez_genius

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 3120 is connected to the router like the server and the other softphones...


    This is the setup.
     
  4. Cjay

    Cjay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well as you have shown it there is no Internet connection, so as you have all devices on the same subnet there is no need for a gateway. If this is really the case then leave the gateway entry blank. Alternatively if you do have Internet access through some other device then point the g/way at this.
    If you are only using the 3102 for telephony (and not as a router) then just use the WAN port. LAN port does not need configuring - set the networking service to 'Bridge' and enable DHCP server to 'No'
     
  5. Henk

    Henk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0

    WAN Setup:
    Server .222 I assume this is the 3CX box, no need for that in the WAN setup
    Nodes are not required in the WAN setup
    Router .1 I assume this is your "gateway" to the internet. Set this up under Static IP Settings: Gateway: 92.168.43.1
    Linksys .3 Set this up under static IP Settings: 92.168.43.3

    Optional Settings (but important).
    Primary DNS, use your DNS server or that one of your ISP.
    DNS server order: Manual
    DNS Query mode: Parallel
    Get a working NTP server.

    Lan Setup:
    Nothing major as it is not used.

    HOpe this helps.
    H.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.