Lots of noise on PSTN calls via Vega Gateway

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jb, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. jb

    jb

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    When we make or receive calls from SIP phones over PSTN through a gateway device there is lots of noise on our side (and also some echo).

    The person on the other end hears no noise or echo, but on our phones there is loud background noise whenever we are talking. Calls are using the g.711A codec. Has anyone encountered similar problems or is anyone aware of obvious things to check for?

    Details
    SIP phones - Polycom SoundPoint IP 601
    3CX v3.1.2434
    Vega 50 6x4 gateway


    I'll post the support log if it's helpful :D

    John
     
  2. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you binding extensions or lines to media server?
    Are all of them internal (i.e. on the same LAN)?
     
  3. jb

    jb

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    All of the extensions that we've tried this on are internal.

    The extensions aren't bound to the media server.
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Than 3CX PBX is definitely NOT involved in RTP transfer and doesn't perform any transcoding. Try to bind something to media server and check the difference.
     
  5. terraboi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is an old one but i am having the same problem with my vega 50 6x4 8fxs/2fxo. i hear a slight echo and noise when i talk out of the pstn and internally to another extension. 3CX v7.1 (latest) vega v8 f/w SIP, yealink T22 and T28 phones in AUS.
     
  6. wzaatar

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may sound ridiculous, but give it a shot...

    Try changing the gateway powercube (power adapter). I had something similar and changed it, the noise disappeared.
     

Share This Page