mic needs to be plugged in server!?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by psiho, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psiho

I just started playing with this great peace of software and lost about 2 hours today to configure Skype gateway. I kept getting one-way audio and tried everything I could find on forums but it didn't work. 3cx is installed on my home server running Windows 7, with no monitor or mic/speakers which forced me to use terminal connection so I expected problem is there, but configuring mstsc to leave audio on server did not help.

Finally my attention went to Skype client on server which was reporting "cannot detect sound card" when I tried echo test. It was wierd as I got audio on output so sound card was there and working. Finally I plugged in a headset in server and started Skype again... the error message went away. Tried a call from my sip extension to my skype account and it worked great!

My surprise came later when I discovered that headset plugged in my server was broken. Mic was not working. So I plugged in an old mic cable, wit no mic on other hand, no nothing, just dead cable. It worked too! Then I tried disconnecting that cable only to find out one-way audio is back. Connect again and it works. Repeated few times and finally concluded that I have to have dead mic jack plugged in my server for this to work.

I'm noob at this, and it may be something ordinary for you pros, but I'm quite surprised and am curious about your comments.

2. igor.snezhko

igor.snezhko Active Member

You problem that you use a Terminal Session. You should use another software, like Real VNC, then connect to the server and configure sound devices in Skype as needed. No any relationship with microphone, headset and so on...

3. Montclairguy