Minutes to MBs

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by alonchu, Jul 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alonchu

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Everyone,

    I want to install a 3cx server at my office.

    I would like to know if anyone has checked to see, the ratio between minutes and MBs.

    EG If I talk 3000 Min. on my cell phone how many MBs will it use via a UTMS network.

    Thanks a lot!!!

    Alon.
     
  2. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Hi there,

    Calculating this is non-trivial. First, look at this table:

    Codec Bit Rate Normal Ethernet Bandwidth
    G.711 64 Kbps 87.2 Kbps
    G.729 8 Kbps 31.2 Kbps
    G.723.1 6.4 Kbps 21.9 Kbps
    G.723.1 5.3 Kbps 20.8 Kbps
    G.726 32 Kbps 55.2 Kbps
    G.726 24 Kbps 47.2 Kbps
    G.728 16 Kbps 31.5 Kbps
    iLBC 15 Kbps 27.7 Kbps

    Remember the above, are bits, not bytes. Now multiply by the number of seconds, and convert that to megabytes.

    Then add to that - because encapsulating the codec in the 3G frames also requires bandwidth.

    Example:
    3000 minute calls on a 3G network running G.711 codec
    87.2kpbs = 10.9KB/S * 60 = 654KB/Minute * 3000 = 1962000KB / 1024 = 1916 / 1024 = 1.87GB

    So 3000 minutes work out to about 2GB of data. This is a VERY ROUGH estimate.

    Thanks,
     
  3. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Non-trivial... as this varies depending on codec used, encapsulation etc...
     
  4. alonchu

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that's great.

    I can get 5gb plan for $25 over 3G.


    Thanks a bunch!!!


    Alon
     
  5. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also here is a link where you can put in your monthly minutes & it
    will tell you your Mbps used per month. Hope this helps 8)

    http://www.thevpf.com/solution/mpm

    ecwilson
     
  6. kanshare

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    SIP over 3g in Malaysia. It really depends on operator, location, phone type, OS and Softclient

    Using Celcom 3G the results are definately better and more stable.

    We have used ACER S200 winmobile 6.5 destr0_VOIP_WM61___SIP_Config_1.1, HTC hero/Touch cruise/Touch cruise II winmobile 6.1 destr0_VOIP_WM61___SIP_Config_1.1 and Apple Iphone.

    We did a drive which meant we went through many changes of serving Cells and Celcom 3G performed better than the Maxis. We are waiting for the DiGi (which is part of the Telenor group) to come up so that we may conduct the same tests.

    What we tested was mobile SIP on 3G to Fixed location (our office using 3CX and yealink phones).

    Also we tested for mobile SIP on 3G to mobile SIP on 3G via our office 3CX pabx on a 1Mb dsl line.

    Quality and ability to sustain was pretty good.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.