Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

More than three routes on outbound rules ?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by pmacleod, Jul 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pmacleod

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have a situation where a client has three SPA3102's bringing land lines into 3CX, plus a GSM gateway and a SIP trunk. For outbound calls they want to use the three land lines, then a 4 channel GSM gateway, then SIP trunk due to the "unlimited" calls on the land and GSM lines. The problem is, 3CX only supports three routes for outbound calls.

    The 4 channel GSM gateway has the decency to present itself as a single device (SIP peer, Portech) but the SPA3102's are all independent of each other...leaving me well short of routes to use them all AND the GSM gateway AND the SIP trunk. I know I could get cute with dial codes or something to work around it 80% of the way, but that requires user input and that will be all too hard.

    Any thoughts or ideas, or even better experiences ? :D

    Cheers,
    Paul.
     
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    65
    Your best bet is to get an analog gateway for PSTN from Grandstream or Patton. Both are supported, have templates, and both makes have 4 port/line capable models.
     
  3. pmacleod

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, but if only it were that simple :) I should have mentioned that the three PSTN lines in question are located in three different office locations, so the single Patton isn't an option in this case.

    One of the local 3CX support guys has suggested using the Portech dial peering software to do the job, so if that works I'll report back in case anyone else runs across this in the future.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,116
    Likes Received:
    329
    What about splitting the routing. If, for example, you lived in an area with two local areacodes create one route for one of them that consists of 3102 A, 3102 B then GSM, for the second it could be 3102 C, 3102 B, then GSM. You could split it three or four ways and put the VoIP trunk in there as last choice. You could break it down to areacode plus number prefixes, depending on local dialling and numbering plans.

    A feature request (or two) for more than three outbound routes was made a long time ago but seems to have gone nowhere.
     
  5. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    93
    alternative you could by a beronet and place all FXO and GSM in one gateway so for 3CX it is only one rout and then the box forkes the call based on numberplans to the FXO and GSM modules. Depending where you are located this can be an option...
    As far as i know you can not buy beronet in the USA at the current time...

    or as leejor said, split our outbound rules that for specific number only the fxo or the gsm gateway is used with the fallback in route 2 to the voip provider
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.