Moving from Windows to Debian

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mixig, Jan 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,

    currently 3CX v15.5 is installed on Windows server.
    Now we are moving 3cx to Debian.
    When creating a backup on Window server do I need to select "Include License Key Information & FQDN or not" in backup menu? If selected, then during restore licence will be also restored?
    If no, i will put licence during the new instalation/restore procedure?
    FQDN and public IP will be the same

    Thanks
     
  2. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    77
    Make both backups but you will use the one with license and FQDN.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    173
    You can backup a windows installation and restore to a linux installation without issues. During installation your Public IP, Licence and if using a 3CX Supported FQDN and certificate are bound together.

    Unless any of these are changing simply migrate the full backup. Also consider Full cone NAT from public to private IP if your local 3CX IP of the server is changing.
     
  4. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    12
    OK, thanks
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    I would recommend NOT including the licence and FQDN info when creating a backup for moving the PBX to a different machine, especially if the local IP of the server will change. Upon restore specify the licence key and the FQDN will be automatically be selected as it bound to the FQDN.
     
    Silly English Kniggit likes this.
  6. Silly English Kniggit

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    85
    I would recommend installing SP2 on the target server before restoring.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    78
    The safest way to ensure nothing goes wrong is to:
    • Backup without option "Include License Key Information & FQDN"
    • Bring Windows (old) server offline
    • Install V15.5 on the Debian (new) server
    • During the installation wizard, load the backup file you made
    • Continue with the Wizard filling in all information as necessary.
    This is the textbook way.

    Now if you plan on creating the Debian VM using the 3CX PBX Express Wizard, because the wizard itself currently does not allow you to use a backup, then you would have to go the way @Silly English Kniggit pointed out, but I wouldn't prefer it in other cases.
     
  8. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    If you do your daily backup with license and FQDN and the machine crashes, can't you restore to a new machine assuming that it has the same IP address? Is so, are there other reasons to not backup the license and FQDN if your recovery plan would utilize a PC with the same IP?
     
  9. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    78
    Of course, that is the point of this option, to make restoring a backup easier, but as you said, assuming that the system to which you will restoring will have the same FQDN and License Key.

    Making backups without this option just gives you a bit more flexibility when restoring, e.g. if you want to use a different license key and/or FQDN. If you want to do this and your backup has the License Key and FQDN information in it, the proper way would be to install with the License Key and FQDN that the backup has, then make a new backup without them, then uninstall, then re-install using the new backup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.