Moving to a new server

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by hacman, Sep 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hacman

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I'm after a bit of advice and to hear peoples experience here please.

    We currently have a 3CX 9 install running on Windows Server 2008 (32-bit), which works really well. The box also functions as our Exchange server. Ideally, we need to upgrade to Exchange 2010, and for this there is no in-place upgrade. So, we need to move our 3CX system from one server to another that will be running Windows Server 2008 R2.

    How would people recommend doing this, as I don't much fancy a full re-install.

    Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Jon
     
  2. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Firstly do a full backup of the old server just in case.

    Then take a full 3cx backup (using the 3cx backup utility) and have it ready to copy to the new server (it will be a zip file).

    On the new server download and install 3cx (only takes a few minutes to install). Then on startup it asks if you want to configure it or restore from a backup. Choose restore from the backup and point to that zip file and within a minute or so it will be ready to go.

    You may need to reactivate your license if your public ip has changed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    The backup restore is spot on. To further keep the restore process simple, keep the same LAN IP on the new box, if not, you will need to update the IP settings in a few places within 3CX post restore.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. eclipse2000

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    When doing a backup will this backup everything on the 3cx installation including any prompts, voilmail messages and on hold music?
    Thanks
    Paul
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,863
    Likes Received:
    303
    There are options that allow you to choose some of what is backed up. If you tick all of the boxes then, voicemails for sure, will move. as for prompts...if you have added prompts , other than what come with 3CX, you should have a separate backup of those anyway (as you've probably paid for them or at least spent time creating them), same thing goes for any custom music on hold.

    If you find that these did not move over then it is just a matter using your own backup and copying them into the same directory where 3CX is expecting them to be, as on the old system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.