Multi-tenant help

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by redmtn_tech, Nov 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redmtn_tech

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running 3cx cloud server and having an issue on tenant #2 which uses port 6060. I have about 20 Yealink phones working flawlessly but have 2 Polycom Soundstation IP 7000's that are having some difficulties. I am able to register the SSIP7000 just fine through auto provisioning, phones are running the recommended software. When making any outbound calls, the calls from the Polycom's fail because they are trying to call out on the First tenant's port which is 5060. Therefor simply calling to another extension fails. The phones can receive calls just fine, any outbound is referencing the wrong 3cx instance. Thanks in advanced for any help.

    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 [CM503020]: Call(C:311): Normal call termination. Call originator: Extn:323. Reason: Not found
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 [CM503016]: Call(C:311): Attempt to reach <sip:300@10.200.95.249:5060> from Extn:323 has failed. Reason: Not Found
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 [CM503014]: Call(C:311): No known route from Extn:323 to target: <sip:300@10.200.95.249:5060>
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 Call(C:311): from Extn:323 to 300 doesn't match any known extension number.
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 [CM503010]: Call(C:311): Making route(s) from Extn:323 to <sip:300@10.200.95.249:5060>
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 Remote SDP is set for leg L:311.1[Extn]
    11-Nov-2014 14:38:47.809 [CM505001]: Endpoint Extn:323: Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [PolycomSoundStationIP-SSIP_7000-UA/4.0.7.2514] PBX contact: [sip:323@10.200.95.249:6060]
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    246
    have you tried logging into the phones interface and changing the port?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. redmtn_tech

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The line registers with the 3cx on the correct port, there is no need for an outbound proxy. But yes I have tried to use an outbound proxy and force the correct port with no luck.
     
  4. 3CXfoxhallsolutions

    3CXfoxhallsolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    The SIP Trunk port used to receive calls by your second 3CX cloud tenant will be 6060 - but in all cases, your phones will be set up to use [if this is configured as remote STUN clients] SIP ports 5065 -> onwards. You should set the provisioning settings on the extensions 'Phone Provisioning' tab, so that the first phone uses port 5065 and RTP ports 14000-14009, the second uses 5066 and RTP 14010-14019, the third 5067 and RTP 14020-14029 etc. etc. If you can't provision the Polycom's from 3CX - you need to manually set them up to be part of this sequence.

    If your SIP Trunk group is registering OK, then that's good and doing what it needs to do ... In the early days of multi-tenant 3CX I was under the impression that each tenant's phones also needed to follow the main sequence i.e. tenant 3 phones all needed to be 7065 -> based .. But after the first few tenants are put together like this, you really start getting problems. Some serious chat with the guys at 3CX support revealed that the phones for each tenant are actually set up in the same sequence i.e. all tenants phones start at 5065.

    That's worked for me on a 3CX cloud system currently running 9 tenants anyway.
    I hope that helps ....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. garyjduk

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Foxhall,

    I'm in the process of setting up the cloud server and have already been on the phone to 3CX as the documentation wasn't clear or didn't mention important things it should have.

    You say you had some serious chat to 3CX support - does that mean that there are further things that are not clearly documented or lacking in the how to's etc?

    I would like a definitive guide about this before making commitment to customers - I feel this is definitely a work in progress, but it is good to hear that you've got it running with 9 tenants.

    Thanks
    Gary
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.