Multicast Paging Suddenly Silent

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Tracey, Aug 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tracey

All,

I'm fairly new to 3cx. We had someone else build and install the system for us. However, I successfully set up multicast paging myself using a ring group. We are using Yealink sets. All sets are configured properly with the correct listening address. In fact, this has been all working very well for about six months. Yesterday however, or sometime very recently, the pages went silent. Everything looks correct - the phones appear to act the way they always did - but nobody can hear pages. We all hear the pre-page tones just fine, but can't hear any voice. We tested this from multiple sets.

Has anyone here run into anything similar?

Thanks,
    Tracey

2. lneblett

lneblett Well-Known Member

You might want to log into one of the phone and see if the multicast page settings that you manually input are still there.

My thinking is that somehow or another the phone may have been reprovisioned and if so and using the standard 3CX templates, the settings may have been overwritten. The standard screen from which the template is built makes no provision for multi-cast, so you either have to modify the templates accordingly or set each phone manually. If manually, then you need to also turn off, from within the phone's web interface, the provisioning feature. Many phones have a default setting of automatically re-provisioning upon a power reset or after a certain amount of time elapsing.

3. Tracey

Thank you.
    The settings on the web interfaces look perfectly normal. I will delve into the templates.

4. craigreilly

craigreilly Well-Known Member

With the Yealinks make sure you have the correct Multicast Codec set - must be the same on all devices and in 3cx. We are mostly T38 Yealinks... Here is my code. You can also setup a BLF to do the paging, and leave 3cx out of the equation completely.