Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Multiple Line Instaces

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by LyonAdmiral, Apr 6, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LyonAdmiral

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've read some posts about editing XML to remove extra line instances of the same extension on phones such as the Cisco 79x0 & 79x1 series. I'm wondering if it is possible to adjust these XML files to allow the phone to show line instances for other extensions on the phone.

    An example in my institution would be for the main receptionist who has a 7960 to be able to see if other people in the administrative offices are on their phones.
     
  2. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    31
    Seems like this could be accomplished much easier by setting up some BLF appearances in the 3CX Phone for Windows. Does that work for you?

    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,095
    Likes Received:
    327
    If you insist, you can edit the XML files, I did to change line keys above line 1 as by default they were all the same extension number. I have found that 3CX will "update" the provisioning files, replacing the modified files, with what it thinks is the correct configuration. I'm not clear on how often this happens, or under what circumstances, but keep this in mind (make a back-up copy of any modified file).

    I ended up using... http://xml-copy-editor.sourceforge.net/
     
  4. LyonAdmiral

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    It could, but the front desk receptionists insist on having a physical handset and I'm just looking to see if I could do it that.
     
  5. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you are stuck with the Cisco - would you consider adding a sidecar(s). Then you don't have to fool around with the templates and you can just provision from 3CX? Or if you are open to the brand you could go with something easy to work with like Yealink.

    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    Get the receptionist a second monitor, and set them up with the 3cx phone for windows, with the receptionist view. (and/or a bunch of speeddials). They'll never go back :). A side benefit is that this is "free", or, at least, included in your 3CX license.

    I've run into this so many times. My standard answer is - I'll set you up with the receptionist view while we wait for the "phone with all the buttons" to arrive.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.