My Vendor Said to Uninstall Antivirus and Turn Off Firewall

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Jono, Aug 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jono

Hello -

The vendor that we used to install 3CX and gave us support for the first year told us that we shouldn't have anti-virus installed on the 3CX server. He also said to turn off the Windows firewall. As a security-conscious SysAdmin, I'm very uncomfortable with leaving our 3CX server exposed like that.

Is it true that 3CX will not run correctly with anti-virus installed and the firewall on? It seems like that computer is very exposed to malware and hacking. It's behind our hardware firewall, but it still seems dangerous to have no anti-virus or firewall protection on the computer itself.

We are using a Windows 7 Pro SP1 machine as the 3CX server. That computer is not used for anything else but 3CX.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Jono

2. tsukraw

tsukraw New Member

Re: My Vendor Said to Uninstall Antivirus and Turn Off Firew

It is a very common practice in our installs to leave the windows firewall off and to not have AV installed.

I always relate this to other phone systems. If you have say a shoretel that is running a flavor of Linux as its base OS would you be concerned about having a firewall on it or AV on it?

Or back in the in the day with 3COM and there VCX which is running a flavor of linux. Again no firewall or AV.

As long as the phone system has a password and is dedicated to ONLY being a phone system i don't see a issue with running it without AV or a firewall because nothing besides phone activities will be happening.

Malware/viruses are not going to get installed on the system since you are not using it on the internet for anything other then phone system activates, and the odds of a virus on your local LAN being able to remotely access the system, figure out the password, and install themselves is highly unlikely.