Need advice on getting started

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dharvey, Mar 1, 2008.

1. dharvey

Hello Everyone,

I am totally new to the world of VoIp. I am in the process of moving my office back home and do not want to move the PBX which is about 15 yrs old. Since there is just my wife and I now, VoIP seems the perfect solution since I now only need 2 lines.

I tested a virtual PBX and purchased 2 Linksys SPA942 phones. Call quality was excellent but the features were limited. So now I have these 2 phones and want to test with a software PBX. Computer network is set up using both Vista and XP Pro and Broadband.

Can anyone provide a few tips to get started such as a good VoIP provider that works well with 3CX. I am more concerned about the quality of the calls than the cost.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated. I am located in Midwest USA.

Don Harvey

2. dharvey

Thanks Matt,

I appreciate the info, will take a look at nexvortex. I do a lot of computer work and programming, but VoIP is an entirely different animal. The main problem I had in testing the previous provider was no way to have a station busy lamp and since my wife's office is on the 2nd floor and my office is in the basement, I never knew if she was on a call or not. Only way to solve this I think will be with local software such as 3CX.

Hoping to use these Linksys SPA942 phones since I have already purchased but the Snom phones look pretty good.

Don

3. landfiets

landfiets New Member

BLF Busy Lamp Feature could be a problem with 3CX. i think the developers are busy with that, but maybe Archie knows more about that. Further MWI should work fine with some strange settings, so you will be able to see on your phone when there's a voicemail. You could experience some problems with external extensions. I don't know if you will use it only internal or also different locations. Maybe you can post a clear setup from what you'd like or want. We can give you advise then.