Need help determining extension length - 3 or 4 digits

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by stever, Jan 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stever

I have been experimenting with 3CX for several months. I have been thinking that 3 digit extensions would be best for us BUT since I can't easily change this once we go live, I want to make sure I am not missing something. (I am sure there is!)

We have 4 locations and will have one on premise 3CX PBX. Users will potentially move from one location to another to cover for vacations, etc. so keeping a different series of extensions for each location is not necessary or feasible. We have approx. 80 employees with around 65 of these needing extensions. I do not anticipate much growth in the next 5 years. Definitely should be below 100 total employees and maybe 75 needing user extensions. Our current phone system has 3 digit extensions. It seems like with 3CX there is a need for more extensions that are used for "making" things work or for additional features. I have had one communications company recommend 5 digit extensions but had another competent one say that we would be fine with 3 digit ones. If I were consulting a client on this, it would be less risky to recommend 4 digits 3 digits. On the other hand, I would not be the one that is around the employees on a daily basis hearing them complain about the new phone system... I am trying to make the transition as seamless as possible, which keeping the same extension length (and therefore numbers) would be one small thing that would help.

Loc 1 - 50 Users + 10 conference type phones
    Loc 2 - 10 Users + 4 conference type phones
    Loc 3 - 3 Users
    Loc 4 - 3 Users

Here is my planning so far:
    001 - 099 Dummy Extensions
    100 - 110 SP Parking shortcut
    111 - 199
    200 - 299 Employee Extensions (use same as current ones)
    300 - 349 Conference phones and other phones
    350 - 399