• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Need help seeting up prefix

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamtlhern

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Newbie here!

I have downloaded and set up the latest 3cx and purchased a Grandstream GXW-4104 to plug into our analogue lines.

Before we had 3cx we had 2 lines and we had to press 9 to dial out(NO PBX). Now we have 3cx installed and we have plugged in the GXW4104 and having trouble dialing out.

I assume, the dial 9 on the old system was something that BT setup somewhere maybe at the exchange, so i need to tell 3cx to dial 9 before the number 07971....ect.

I have tried putting in a prefix of 9 and "Strip Digits = 0" but not having much luck.

Do i need to tell the GXW-4104 to do something maybe? Or have i just not done it right at all ????

Any help would be appreciated

Can you get incoming calls?
If not - then trouble my be deeper.

If you can get incoming calls, try plugging in an anlog phone to the line and see if you can dial... Do you have to dial 9? or 8? or anything?

What you are doing on the oubound rules sounds correct - myabe paste a screenshot.

After changing strip digits did you change the prefix to 1?

Well, a couple of things first-

1. Did you provision the gxw and does it show the ports as being registered?
2. Would I be correct in assuming that 3cx is replacing an earlier PBX?

If you were to take an analog phone and connect directly to one of the BT lines, can you dial a destination number without the need for a "9"? My guess is yes, and if so then a "9" is not needed to be passed to BT. My guess is that the earlier PBX was set this way. If you want to remain consistent to the past, you can use a "9" to dial so the user experience remains the same, but strip 1 so that it (9) is not passed to BT?