Need some answers for V5

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Ralph, Dec 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning,

    We have a client that we need to move to VoIP as soon as possible.
    3CX is our preference for this implementation provided a production version of the V5 software is available in time (they are very impatient and want to move fast on this). So naturally I have a couple questions :lol:

    1. When can we realistically expect a production release of V5 3CX?
    2. Is caller ID (name) now working in V5?
    3. We where originally planning on implementing a vpn endpoint at each branch of this particular client for VoIP. I read that V5 has a vpn capability? Can v5 3cx now creat a vpn connection for external phones (polycom, grandstream)?

    BTW I like all the new features and having all the features available in all the commercial versions is very nice.

    Thanks again
     
  2. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may run into problems with those VPN end points. See here for the problems I was having:

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/categories-1/3cx-phone-system-general-1/v5---where-has-external-extension-option-gone-3349/

    More information from Stepan:

    "If PBX host doesn't have direct connection to the network where phone is resided then treats connection as external and uses external addresses."

    As far as I can tell, using a hardphone with the VPN client would involve having a host PC turned on and connected at all times. This may, or may not, be a problem. (I may also have the wrong end of the stick with this).
     
  3. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    ... or PBX host (host PC turned on and connected at all times?) can be involved...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning

    Good morning,

    I need to make sure I understand this properly.

    Currently with 3CX we are looking at the following configuration:

    SIP Phone ->VPN Endpont->Internet->VPN Router->3CX Server

    How would this change with V5 of 3CX?
    Would I not be able to do this with V5 3CX?

    or would the diagram be more like the following with V5:
    SIP Phone->Internet->3CX Server
    with 3CX providing the VPN/security?

    Thanks again
     
  5. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: Good morning

    Is it possible to have "SIP Phone ->(VPN)->3CX Server" style of connection?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good afternoon

    A SIP Phone->VPN->3CX Server type of connection or better put a
    SIP Phone->Secure->3CX Server connection would be possible if both 3CX and the SIP phone were able to use a protocol or software that allowed for encryption of the data stream.

    I take it that this is not currently supported in any version of 3CX?

    If this is the case then will I be able to use the following configuration with V5?
    SIP Phone->VPN Endpoint->Internet->VPN Router->3CX Server.

    We have used the above configuration in our tests with V3 and it worked fine. I am concerned because there appear to be some issues in V5?

    Thanks again
     
  7. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good evening

    So does anyone know if there is a release date for the production version of Version 5??
     
  8. 5qg4

    5qg4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also hit the same issue at V5.
    SIP devices(Gateways, hardphone and softphone) ->VPN Router->Internet->VPN Router->3CX Server.
    Remote branch <---> LAN 2 LAN VPN <----> HQ office 3CX BOX
    The same setting works fine at V3.1. However, one way voice issue found at V5 all version. Up to 3CX Phone System v5.0.3648.0 still not fixed. I never imagine that LAN 2 LAN VPN also get one way voice issue at VoIP. May be my wrong setting cause this issue. Does anyone know how to setup LAN 2 LAN VPN with V5 which can works fine like V3.1?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good evening

    It sounds as though they need to put back the ability to manually uncheck or turn off the external extension mode.

    This is a pretty serious issue. Anyone know if there is a fix or work around that would allow the use of VPNs??
     
  10. mbs1

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    I am running the latest version of V5 ( free ). I have a site 2 site ipsec vpn between 2 sites and using either xlite or pheenet ip phones i am able to have 2 way audio between the sites calling from either end.

    The system was upgraded to ver 5 from 3 and no changes were made to the extensions.The pbx delivers audio is not checked for the extn that is on the remote site.

    rgds

    mbs
     
  11. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning

    Thanks for the info MBS.

    Just to clarify:

    You currently have the following configuration:

    SIP Phone->VPN Endpoint->Internet->VPN Router->3CX Server

    and it works fine with the new version of 3CX (v5)?

    Thanks again
     
  12. mbs1

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi ralph,

    yes i have the configuration you have shown and i have tried this with Xlite, a pheenet ip phone and a linksys spa901 and all three work with audio both ways. i have also tried from a remote end to a provider configure with fwd and that works as well.

    The vpn is a site to site ipsec.

    I am not using sip domain in the configuration, i just set the register ip address to the private ip address of the 3cx pbx

    rgds

    mbs
     
  13. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    That is excellent news :D

    Since we have to use site to site vpn for security I was a bit worried :shock:

    Thanks again MBS
     
  14. 5qg4

    5qg4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ralph,

    After applied "Patch for Version 5.0.3648", all remote SIP device(s) works.

    Thanks for 3CX team quick respond to fixed this issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.