NEW: 3CXPhone Phone for ANDROID WITH TUNNEL 1.3.1

Discussion in 'Android' started by Vali_3CX, Aug 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hi all

    We are pleased to announce a new version for 3CX Phone for Android with embedded 3CX Tunnel (Version 1.3.1)
    This version is currently not yet available on the android market
    Click on Internet and enter the following download link in your Android phone:
    http://www.3cx.com/downloads/3CXPhone.apk


    Tips on how to configure 3CX Phone for Android with Tunnel integration:

    Plug and Play Phone Provisioning method

    1)Install the latest 3CX Phone for Android
    2)If you are on the same network you will see an entry in the phones page. right click and add existing extension (or create a new extension)
    3)Click on Phone Provisioning, and enable the option "Provision 3CX Phone with Tunnel Enabled for remote connections"
    4)Press OK - Your Android phone will automatically provision with 3CX Tunnel option enabled. 3CXPhone for android will register using Tunnel.

    Manual 3CXPhone for Android Configuration

    1) Edit an existing profile you have or create a new profile and fill in all the basic account settings
    2) Click on 3CX Tunnel (BETA) option in account settings
    3) Enable the checkbox "Use 3CX Tunnel"
    4) Enter the local IP of your 3CX Phone System Server in the Local IP of remote tunnel section.
    5) Local Port of Remote tunnel - this is default 5090. If you changed the 3CX Tunnel port on the 3CX Phone System server side then you need to put the updated port number in this field.
    6) In the "Password" field enter the 3CX Tunnel Password

    3CX Phone System Server Tunnel options can be found if you log in to the 3CX Management console, Settings, Network, 3CX Tunnel tab.


    This version also contains a number of Fixes made since the last update
    - removed duplicate INVITEs when making or hold-ing calls.
    - fixed a crash ocuuring in hold/retrieve call
    - proper unregistration when phone exits.
    - fixed autoprovisioning of a non-standard PBX SIP port.

    Tested and working WITH tunnel on:
    - HTC Wildfire S
    - HTC Wildfire
    - HTC Desire
    - Sony Ericsson Xperia U20i
    - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10i
    - Motorola Milestone XT720
    - Samsung GT-I5800
    - Samsung GT-I9000
    - Samsung Galaxy S

    All tests have been done using WiFi.

    Any feedback will be welcome.
    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: NEW: 3CXPhone 1.3.1 WITH TUNNEL

    Wow.

    Tested and working with tunnel via 3G and WiFi :

    Samsung Galaxy GT-S5830

    Good job Vali. Thanks !!!!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Re: NEW: 3CXPhone 1.3.1 WITH TUNNEL

    So far, so good, both WiFi & 3G on HTC Desire.
    Thanks. Hoping that this will resolve some of those "no connection" issues, when travelling and using Hotspots.
     
  4. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    Not sure of the no connection issues - No connection means no connection. 3CX Tunnel will not make miracles and keep the connection open when it is cut by something else.

    What I can say however is that the 3CX Tunnel will solve the following problems for sure:

    1 way audio
    no audio issues
    Port blocking issues - SiP Blocking
    bypass incorrect router and firewall configurations client side
    bypass uncontrolled router and firewall configurations border side (hotspot, cafes etc)
    bypass routers/firewalls with NAT types that are not made for VoIP

    And a lot of other advantages. Let us know on the feedback.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. taymur

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent job it is working on Asus Transformer with android 3.1 WiFi
     
  6. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    fantastic
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Works also fine with Samsung Galaxy S II over WiFi and 3G.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    What has happened in the past...is that ,(I suspect) some hotspots are set-up to deliberately block SIP. I have tried connecting at some locations, using my netbook (3CX phone for windows, no tunnel at first), with no luck. I have a WiFi connection but no registration. Once I turn on the tunnel, it works just fine, in the vast majority of cases.

    I put a note on one of the other threads...

    Using the new (tunnel) version on the weekend, at a hotspot, in a restaurant, I found that after about 40 minutes, I was no longer registered. I've used this hotspot many times in the past and when I've gone to turn off the WiFi, when leaving, 3CX is always still registered. I will do some more testing when I get time. I had reduced the registration intervals down, way below 1800 seconds, quite a while back.
     
  9. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hi Lee

    Lee, please do the following next weekend :mrgreen: open account settings / integration, and there, on the bottom side, uncheck the Full screen option. Save, exit app, then start it again: the taskbar should be now visible on top. Now, after those 40 mins (or when you see the Not Registered), have a look at the taskbar to see if you have WiFi signal. When phone's tunnel loose connection with the remote one, it disconnects phone's call, if any, but does not force the phone to unregister - it would be useless, obviously. So, the "Not registered" will appear due to phone's autoregister interval (btw, default is 120 secs, not 1800) However, when network signal comes back, tunnel attempts to reconnect to the remote one and, if successful, prompts the phone to re-register.

    Thanks for feedback
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Will do, perhaps before the weekend. I had thought (assumed) that registration interval was 1800 seconds, as it is for other devices. I just know that I lowered it from the default, a number of months ago.

    ...Had a quick look at the phone. I'm pretty sure that the "Registration Timeout", was 1800, (which made sense at the time, 1800 seconds =30 minutes) I had set it to 900.
     
  11. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    30 min for an unreliable connection is too little. If wifi disconnects and the registration is sent on the first minute (as proof of the concept I want to explain) for example, the next time the phone will try and re-register is after 29 minutes!!!!. Usually a disconnection in wifi happens but it does not happen for a long time. It might disconnect and regain connection shortly after (seconds or minutes).

    You must set this time as short as possible at the cost of wasting battery life yes. Shortest is 120 seconds. But if you want to make phone calls, then you have to pay android cpu power and battery life for it. The lower this is the more battery power will be used of course.

    Make sure you have a connection to wifi before. This is why Valli told you to not show the phone in full screen, so you can see the wifi bars in android and have a visual quick indication of whether you are still connected to wifi or not. If you are in a hotspot, then you do not know when you are connected or not.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    That's why I had lowered it from the default initially, but, even before, and since then, had not noticed any issues, using the previous versions. The "Dot" was always green when i went to shut off the WiFi.

    Before using the 3CX for Android, I had been using a few different WiFi phones and had lowered the registration interval quite a bit on them. I had found that one make (Linksys) would hold registration a lot longer than the other (a UT Starcom). I attributed it to differences in the way they handled "power saving" .
     
  13. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've got an HTC Incredible. I have the same problem with this 1.3.1 as I have had with previous versions.

    When I make a call the party at the other end reports that they hear an echo of their voice. I have tried this with 3G and wifi. Also tried it with the apps Echo Cancellation on and off.

    If you have any suggestions I would love to know.

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Did a few tests with a couple of WiFi sites. Changed setting to NOT full screen yesterday. Lowered the Registration Timeout to 300 this morning. Several times I've gone to look at the phone and there is a green dot and a strong WiFi signal, but the phone says "Not Registered".
    Had time to briefly look over the 3CX logs this AM, Saw several not registered, then registered logs from the extension, Registration Timeout was still set at 900 last night.

    Something else I've discovered...if, in Advanced, I check TCP Transport, I have the behaviour as above. not registered but a green dot. If I uncheck, it still shows unregistered, but now the dot turns is red when I check the phone after 10 minutes or so. If, after unlocking the screen, I touch the 3CX icon, it will go to register successfully.

    And...If I turn off the tunnel, I can leave the phone for an hour or so, come back, unlock the screen, green dot and phone shows On Hook.

    So...something is happening when the tunnel is used, and it's not a good thing.
     
  15. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hi Lee
    Good to know these things, we will check them. Quite interesting what you mentioned about TCP switch, because TCP usage is automatically disabled (or ignored) when using tunnel. We will check.
    Thanks for feedback 8)
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. LeDob

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The tunnelling function works perfectly THANKS a lot :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

    Tested with 3G
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    30
    Anyone have any experience or knowledge of the echoing I described that the other party hears when I use the Tunnel with my Android HTC Incredible?

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/new-3cxphone-phone-for-android-with-tunnel-21325.html#p107546
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    12494 - If you remove the tunnel the echo disappears? I doubt this. I think the echo will still remain. I doubt it is related to the tunnel. Can you confirm this pls?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    30
    remote (called) party hears echo at their end whether I am using tunnel or not.

    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    Then as you can see this is not related to this particular thread.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.