Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

New Office VOIP Setup w/ 3CX

Discussion in '3CX Clients' started by Alb3rtV3, Nov 22, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alb3rtV3

Hey Everyone,

I am a paralegal at a law office and my boss has asked me to find information on getting a VOIP system setup with the ability to have incoming/outgoing call recording. I have looked around and it seems that 3CX has what we need in terms of functionality. The issue is that I do not want to contact a reseller without the exact information that I need to be up sold on something we don't need.

My background: Electrical/Electronics Engineer and a history of building and fixing computers. I have not had any experience with PBX systems at all. So any/all information you can provide me will be great.

Current Analog Phone Setup:
    -Comcast Business
    -Three phones
    -Phones: RCA Visys (Analog)

Current Internet Setup:
    -Comcast Business
    -Router: Netgear Highthawk AC1900
    -Download/Upload: 95mbps/20mbps

Currently I am looking a purchasing the Intel NUC5CPYH with 8gbs of ram. Beyond that I am confused as to how the rest of the setup will work.

• Can we use the analog phones or will we require VOIP phones?
    • Our office is located in Florida and because of the hurricanes and such, we are currently debating with either an On-Premise or Cloud setup. The issue being, HIPAA rules governing recorded calls with client confidentiality.
    • Besides the Intel NUC5CPYH, what other hardware would we need?
    • Does 3CX have the capability for an auto attendant? Mainly when someone calls, the message advises the caller that the call IS recorded and monitored which will then branch off into a tree of different options users can press besides extension.