New starter unable to get 3CX Assistant working.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by craigray, Oct 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. craigray

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I am a new starter with 3CX. Have the beginnings of the system installed and phone calls happening. I have been working on two issues that I have not been able to get working correctly, provisioning of the phones from the 3CX Phone System (I am doing all manually at the moment.) The second is getting the 3CX Assistant to work. As they seem to be related, I am tackling the second fault first in the hopes it will help me bring a solution to both issues.

    System Details:

    3CX Phone System V10 on Windows 2003-R2 using Abyss web server.

    All of the phones are CISCO SPA501G except one CISCO SPA502G with sidecar.

    I have setup the Assistant provisioning URL as:

    http://172.16.100.103:5000/provisioning/$MA.xml

    but get a failed to connect to server error message every time. If I enter the following URL into a browser the system returns the XML file.

    http://172.16.100.103:5000/provisioning/E05FB9817838.xml

    All firewalls on the server and the local client are turned OFF for testing purposes.

    Any help in a solution would be highly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Craig
     
  2. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    If you are running 3CX V10 then the 3CX Assistant will not work. You will need to use the 3CX MyPhone (Replacement)

    You will not be able to browse http://172.16.100.103:5000/provisioning/$MA.xml via internet explorer as the $MA.xml is a variable which is completed on the fly with the mac address of the phone.



     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. craigray

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dave,
    That was the missing piece of information. And I just worked out how to install the MyPhone so it is not web-based. and I did manage to get the provisioning of phones URL in the DHCP server working correctly, so all is now good.
     
  4. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    excellent
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.