New to 3cx question

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Pete S, Oct 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pete S

Hi!

I'm new to 3cx and IP PBX in general and I've read all documentation but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around a few things.

We're setting up a small 3cx system with about 6 extensions - have ordered Yealink T41s & T46s phones. The plan is to have incoming calls go directly to IVR where the caller selects 1 for sales, 2 for support and so on or enter the extension directly. We'll have the IVR transfer the call to ring groups or possibly queues for each function. If you're part of the right group or queue the phone will ring. Some of us will do both sales and support for instance. But is there a way to set this up so we can see on the phone if the call is a support call or a sales call?

Thanks in advance!

- Pete

2. NickD_3CX

NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Absolutely! With the default settings of 3CX, when an incoming external call:
    1. Matches an Inbound Rule you've created which
    2. Forwards to an IVR/Digital Receptionist, then
    3. An option takes the caller to a Ring Group or Queue, then
    4. Ring the Members/Extensions of the Ring Group or Queue
    The members on are ringing as a result of this will see:
    • The Callers Number
    • The Inbound Rule name you have set in the Management Console (optional, if not set it won't show)
    • The Ring Group/Queue Name

This means that if you have your "Sales" Queue and your "Support" Queue, while the phone is ringing, besides the Caller ID of the Caller you will also see which Queue its coming in through (same applies for Ring Groups).

Pete S likes this.
  3. Pete S

Thanks, that's perfect!

Another question I was wondering about is that most phones support more than one voip connection. Yealink T41 I think supports up to 3 and T46 up to 6 connections.