New/Updated softphone with 3CX v.10 ?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Fatboy40, Mar 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm starting to use the 3CX softphone (5.0.14900.0) a lot more now with my 3CX v.9 installation (trialing it with a Jabra Go 660), but some users prefer Counterpath's 'Bria' softphone.

    Before I choose what route I go down is anyone, other than 3CX themselves ;-) , aware of whether or not an updated version of the softphone will be released along with v.10 of the 3CX phone system ?.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    61
    So, I'm not allowed to answer this question :mrgreen:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should have worded that one better shouldn't I ;-)

    Go on then, you can spill the beans if you want to :)

    Seriously though, both the 3CX softphone and Bria have things that the other doesn't so I'm stuck betwen them, merge them together into a single app and I'll be a happy man.
     
  4. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    (and put the smilies back on your web server so that we can use more than just Mr Green please :idea: )
     
  5. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joking apart, i never use Bria anymore... Seriously too many crashes 8)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    61
    This is not possible: 3CXPhone is not intended to be a clone of Bria, the same as Bria is not intended to be a clone of 3CXPhone. Both of them are good softphones, but the best is the one which is able to best match user's specific demands. As an example, I told at one time, I'm still using a graphic Windows 16-bit application I bought back in '93, 5 floppies, which is perfect for me, I don't need anything more.

    A new 3CXPhone version will be released soon, stay tuned.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. brentrichburg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I install Assistant with 3cx Soft phone, it installs 3cxphone ver. 5.0.1444.0. That version does not support Jabra very well.

    ver. 5.0.14900 does support Jabra, but I cannot get it to install integrated with 3CX Assistant. Is there a way to do that?
     
  8. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you download the latest assistant from 3CX, and install that (including the 3cx phone) it will work. You'll have to uninstall the current assistant and 3cx phone.

    - Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.