• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

[Newbie] General 3CX questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeMelga

Reaction score
Hi all.

I am very new to all this VOIP world.
I run a very small business at home and I would like to try 3CX to manage my communications.

I am not sure what hardware I need so I am asking for your help.

Here is what I have:

1 analog land line (free to other land lines)
2 gsm lines (different operators - free to each operator)

2 analog phones
1 IP Phone (Cisco 7960 series)

Here is what I need/would like the system to do:

1- Be able to use the existing 2 analog phones in the house
2- Be able to use my cisco IP phone in my office (after SIP firmware install)
3- Route calls to the cheapest operator
4- Be able to send and receive faxes through the land line without a dedicated fax machine

Besides these... my main requirement is to have the ability to call the 3cx when away with my gsm and have the 3cx call me back and dial the number I define through DTMF. Is this possible?

I already have a spare dedicated server and I was thinking in buying Portech's MV-372 GSM gateway. Do I also need an analog (FXS,FXO) gateway?

Thanks.

Welcome Mike

I dont have a huge amount of experience on the GSM gateways as cell phone service in the USA is different that Europe and we dont pay a different price to call a cell phone compared to a landline.

There should be some European partners here who can advise you on that part, but it can be done.

For your two analog phones you would need an ATA (analog telephone adapter). There are many some are supported and others are not supported but work (e.g. PAP2T). The type depends on where and how you have your phones set up (if you have wiring for each phone then you can use a multi port ATA at the point of wiring or you can have 1 ata per phone).