Newbie.. Need Help Please.. Caller can not hear me

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by lunesta, Apr 11, 2007.

1. lunesta

I am totally new to Voip. I started palying with it today. I installed the server and setup two extensions and register my voip line. I also configured digital receptionist which is working fine.
    Whenever somebody calls me on my extension, it rings ( I am using softphone). I can not hear them and they can not hear me. But if I call somebody or the same number from my extension, then we can hear each other. I behind NAT and I disabled firewals on both computers (server/workstation) to check if thats the problem.
    If somebody help me to resolve this issue please.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Costas3CX

Costas3CX New Member

Hello and welcome to the forum

Please go to the configuration of the softphone extension and then advanced options/show advanced options and tick "Bind to Media Server". Also untick "Supports 'Replaces' header" and try again. Let me know how it works out.

3. lunesta

costas3CX.. I followed your instructions, now call is not transferring to extension at all. I can hear digital reception prompt and when i hit the extension number, it doesnt transfer to the extension number.
    I did another test directed incoming call to extension instead of recep, it rings but when i pick up the extension... same problem can not hear anything on both sides.
    when I am binding my extension to Media server do I need to open some kind of specific ports or not?
    Appreciate for your help.

4. lunesta

can someone help me with this issue. Thanks

5. NigelG

RE: Problems

Hi,

Are the calls between the extensions both internal to your network or external ie: at a remote location? and is the firewall running on the PCs or is it within your router?

Also which softphone are you using for the extensions.

Rgds
    NigelG

6. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest