No audio when connecting remotely

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by gwinn, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. gwinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 3CX up and running on a server behind my firewall. The X-lite Softphone works fine when the laptop is internal (behind the firewall) but I don't get any audio when I connect in remotely (via publicly resolveable address).

    Any suggestions?

    I have added the 7000-7049 range to my firewall but to no avail.

    Cheers

    Gareth Winn
     
  2. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 7000+ range is internal only, do not add to firewall, not needed. Can you post logs of external calls? Did you select "Extension is external" and "Bind to Media Server" in setup? Are you using same STUN Server in 3CX and X-Lite? Read this post http://www.3cx.com/forums/the-portforwarding-faq-hope-this-gets-a-sticky-1697.html
    Ensure ports are configured as described paying attention to TCP and UDP. It should work fine if these points are covered.
     
  3. fala70

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've same problem, audio work only a way, internal to external. All port forwarded correctly, same stun server used. Windows firewall down.

    I know that the problem is the router, becouse witohout router firewall all work good. But there is not a solution for this. I read all post forum, nothing todo. my log:

    07:46:57.640 MediaServerReporting::RTPReceiver [MS105000] Call(4) Ext.100: No RTP packets were received on 00000008@:remoteAddr=217.202.104.128:54200,extAddr=87.6.59.135:10233,localAddr=0.0.0.0:9010
    07:46:53.578 StratLink::eek:nHangUp [CM104001] Call(4): Ext.100 hung up call; cause: BYE; reason: SIP;description="User Hung Up"
    07:46:34.140 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.101
    07:46:32.406 ServRegs::checkExpiration [CM113000] Registration for sip:101@192.168.1.100:5060 has expired
    07:46:25.531 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(4): Created audio channel for Ext.100 (217.202.104.128:54200) with Media Server (87.6.59.135:10233)
    07:46:25.531 StratInOut::eek:nConnected [CM104005] Call(4): Setup completed for call from Ext.101 to Ext.100
    07:46:25.531 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(4): Created audio channel for Ext.101 (192.168.1.102:9000) with Media Server (87.6.59.135:10231)
    07:46:21.546 CallConf::eek:nProvisional [CM103003] Call(4): Ext.100 is ringing
    07:46:16.968 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(4): Incoming call from 101 (Ext.101) to sip:100@192.168.1.100:5060


    HELP PLEASE.. :cry: :cry:
     
  4. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried the "Bind to Media Server" and "extension is external" on extension configuration to see if it works?

    Cheers
     
  5. webguyz

    webguyz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might also want to google WINSTUN (free) and download it and install it on a PC on the same network as the remote device and run it to see if your NAT will support STUN. Older routers had issues but most of the newer ones should be ok.

    If STUN is working correctly, there is NO need to worry about redirecting ports at the remote end or putting your device in a DMZ to make it work.
     
  6. fala70

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried also winstun. This is the result:

    Nat with Independend Mapping and Independent Filter - VoIP will work with STUN
    Does not preserve port number
    Does not supports hairpin of media
    Public IP address: 82.56.18.216

    what mean ? My ruoter work good for stun servers ?
     
  7. 5qg4

    5qg4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems your firewall router blocked RTP. I also hit this issue before under testing netscreen 5XP/5GT and NS25. Even set the firewall policy any to any still not fixed this issue. I must make sure that all the ports by using for RTP can pass though the FW (in and out).
     
  8. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bold text - describes a problem.
    one side uses local address but other - external...
     
  9. fala70

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is correct 100 is a external extension, 101 is normal extension. !!!!
     
  10. LORD ORION

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Describe how are you connecting remotely... (software?)

    Alot of tunnel software creates virtual ports which mess NAT traversal up.

    Although it is out of the scope of 3CX, to be sure, you could try running the laptop externally and looking at the ports using TCPview.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/tcpview.mspx
     

Share This Page