Solved No "Templates" under Settings

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JF007, Mar 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello everyone,

    I'm trying to edit the template for a Yealink T46S to customize settings as I learned that the phone re-provisioning overwrites all the changes I made directly through the phone web UI. Every single reference I've found online tells me to go to Management Console > Settings > Templates. The problem is that "Templates" is NOT under settings. Not sure if this was a recent update or if I'm missing something. The edition comparison chart does not show this as a difference. Please help!

    Thanks.
     
  2. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    166
    Try another browser, clear your cache

    Not heard of this issue before
     
  3. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your response Saqqara. I tried clearing the cache. Also tried Chrome, Firefox and Safari on Mac and Chrome, Firefox, IE and Edge on Windows. Still no "Templates" under "Settings".
     
  4. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also, I won't let me edit the template file when I open it by clicking "+ Config" when selecting the phone under "Phones"
     
  5. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    166
    This option shows the template pushed out to the phone, does not allow you to edit it
     
  6. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    That makes sense. Thanks.

    I'll reboot the server to see if that helps somehow. Still no "Templates"
     
  7. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    166
    What version of 3CX ?

    Windows or Debian ?
     
  8. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is the free cloud. Every indication is that it's a linux VM. If I run updates it says that it is up to date, so it's the latest. I believe 15.5 Update 3.
     
  9. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    77
    Are you logged in as the Admin user?
    Please note: Lesser users don't see all things. Operator extension may not see them as well. Login as a user and not an extension.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I am logged in as admin.
     
  11. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    174
    Can I confirm one thing with you as it sounds like a similar problem I have known some re-sellers to have.

    If you go into "Settings" and "Templates" can you actually access the Templates screen ? so is the issue that the templates simply do not display in the drop down box.

    The issue I am talking about is normally due to insufficient resources, or you are connecting remotely to a 3CX instance with poor internet.

    The templates do appear if you wait a little longer for them to load - due to the above reasons it just takes a while for them to load up.
     
  12. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wonder what else I’m missing. Here’s what I see

    - 3CX Client
    - Blacklisted Numbers
    - Call Parking
    - CDR
    - Conferencing
    - CRM Integration
    - Dial Codes
    - E164 Processing
    - Email
    - Fax Server
    - MOH
    - Timezone...
    - PBX
    - Security
    - System Prompts
    - Voicemail
    - Hotel Services
     
  13. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your reply.

    When I go to “Settings” I do not see “Templates”. I only see the 17 options listed in my previous post.
     
  14. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    174
    If that is the case then the only things I could think of that would effect this have already been suggested.

    You have a 3CX edition that does not support "custom templates" (however the edition comparison table confirms that this is not the case): https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/

    Or that you have insufficient privileges in the management console. Although there is not an exact setting to deny access to these templates, under System management there is a setting for "General System Administration" which does not list exactly what this entails.
     
  15. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    77
    You're also missing license, Music on Hold. Sure looks like you are not a full administrator.
    There are 20 options.
    Go into security/admin credentials and verify you are the user listed there.

    This is 15.5 version?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Jimbo,

    I agree admin rights seems to be the most plausible cause given the scenario. I went to Security > Admin Credentials and the account is certainly the one I'm using.

    I wonder if running hosting this in the cloud has anything to do with the level of access I have.

    Yes, I am running 15.5
     
  17. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do have Music on Hold. I must be missing something else as I only have 17.
     
  18. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I signed up for a free year of cloud hosted 3CX. I got a username, pw, URL, etc. to log in. When I log in as admin I see 17 items in "Settings" I do not see Licensing or Templates.

    I'm incredibly frustrated. I'm about to give up on 3CX. I thought I had found the perfect system for my needs.
     
  19. JF007

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm also missing "Parameters". If I am using THE admin account that was provided to me to log into the web console, how do I get access to the missing options? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  20. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    77
    Wait until tomorrow when the 3CX team can help you. It makes no sense if you are logged in as admin you have limited rights. But this may be just a dream.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.