OK starting off

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jmorley990, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i got just a few questions

    1, i use windows xp, my home computer, will 3cx run on a regular computer
    2.if i were to use this software, where would i get my ip number for the settings
    3.how would i plug in a cisco ip phone to use it
    4.what is the best provider to use for the service

    thanks JM
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Yes, it runs great on Windows XP Pro
    2. It will be the IP address of the machine you are putting it on. Typing ipconfig from a cmd prompt will give you the IP, but it really should be on a static IP and not DHCP.
    3. Depends on which Cisco phone and what firmware is on it
    4. AT&T, Verizon, PacBell or other landline carries are the best
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    we have verizon DSL right now. how would i set the PBX up to work with my verizon account or a IP phone account? like i see call all these IP SIP providers....how does that work with VERIZON.

    and what phone is best, or softphone?
     
  4. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    You asked what the best is, the best is to use analog phone lines or a PRI. For that you would need a gateway device like a Patton 4114. If you wanted to use a SIP trunk, then its pretty simple if it is a supported one, simply go to the voip trunks, select the provider, and enter your username and password.

    What phone is best? What is your budget? I personally really like the Cisco SPA525G but its a little pricey. The Cisco SPA504G is really good for only $133. I do not like using softphones myself while other people do. Its more a matter of personal preference.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm...thanks for all the info.
     
  6. Ricambi America

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0

    I agree... but they are oooo so sweet! I use the SPA525G on my desk a hundred times a day.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok like if i got a Cisco SPA phone, what VOIP provider works with the IP phone? thats what i need to know how to set up with that phone


    edit: how do i know how to get the IP phone to work with 3CX and the VOIP provider?
    edit: i want the SPA921 1 line IP phone
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.