Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

OK starting off

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jmorley990, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i got just a few questions

    1, i use windows xp, my home computer, will 3cx run on a regular computer
    2.if i were to use this software, where would i get my ip number for the settings
    3.how would i plug in a cisco ip phone to use it
    4.what is the best provider to use for the service

    thanks JM
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Yes, it runs great on Windows XP Pro
    2. It will be the IP address of the machine you are putting it on. Typing ipconfig from a cmd prompt will give you the IP, but it really should be on a static IP and not DHCP.
    3. Depends on which Cisco phone and what firmware is on it
    4. AT&T, Verizon, PacBell or other landline carries are the best
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    we have verizon DSL right now. how would i set the PBX up to work with my verizon account or a IP phone account? like i see call all these IP SIP providers....how does that work with VERIZON.

    and what phone is best, or softphone?
     
  4. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    You asked what the best is, the best is to use analog phone lines or a PRI. For that you would need a gateway device like a Patton 4114. If you wanted to use a SIP trunk, then its pretty simple if it is a supported one, simply go to the voip trunks, select the provider, and enter your username and password.

    What phone is best? What is your budget? I personally really like the Cisco SPA525G but its a little pricey. The Cisco SPA504G is really good for only $133. I do not like using softphones myself while other people do. Its more a matter of personal preference.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm...thanks for all the info.
     
  6. Ricambi America

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0

    I agree... but they are oooo so sweet! I use the SPA525G on my desk a hundred times a day.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok like if i got a Cisco SPA phone, what VOIP provider works with the IP phone? thats what i need to know how to set up with that phone


    edit: how do i know how to get the IP phone to work with 3CX and the VOIP provider?
    edit: i want the SPA921 1 line IP phone
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.