Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

One Way Audio When Calling from Remote Extension

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by drotkopf, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just setup a new 3CX v7 system and I installed a remote Polycom extension without using the PC client/tunnel, etc. It registers OK and I can place a call to an extension that is local to the 3CX server. It rings, the user picks up and he can hear me but I don't have any audio from him.

    Ideas?

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  2. discovery1

    discovery1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you run the firewall checker?

    Forwarded the ports from external to the 3CX machine?

    What are you running 3CX on?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tazz

    tazz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Polycoms, at least in my past will not work. They do not as of yet & I emprise yet offer a STUN feature. Be certain to research this & see if you can get a firmware upgrade that will offer this feature. They will work within your LAN but not as a Remote Phone. Please let us know what you discover.........
     
  4. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Can't run the firewal checker. Error saying it can't open C:\program Files\3CX PhoneSystem\Bin\3CXFWChecker.dll, but the file is there with rights for everyone...

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  5. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I upgraded to the latest v7 release and the firewall checker ran ok. All tests passed.

    In our office LAN firewall I forwarded ports 5000-9049 to the XP Pro PC running 3CX.

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  6. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another piece of info... an internal extension CAN'T dial an external extension, meaning, my external extension never rings.

    Do you think it might be my home firewall? Any guidelines on how to setup Wireshark on both sides for this?

    Thanks.

    Dan
     
  7. discovery1

    discovery1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dan

    Can you test both ends with the 3CX VOIP client to make sure the problem is specific to the Polycom phones and not the firewalls or 3CX configuration?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Using the 3CX VOIP client I get 1 way audio... but the other way now.

    Also insteresting, since I upgraded to the latest v7 release, now my external polycom phone doesn't even register. I get a 407 proxy authentication required message sent from the 3CX system in response to INVITE by my external polycom phone. I don't even have a proxy defined!

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  9. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi, Dan

    yesterday you said: "I just setup a new 3CX v7 system and I installed a remote Polycom extension without using the PC client/tunnel, etc. It registers OK"
    today: "since I upgraded to the latest v7 release, now my external polycom phone doesn't even register. I get a 407 proxy authentication"

    If you updated today over previous yesterday' install, then be sure you have done a restore operation to restore your Polycom settings - otherwise, it IS unregistered, except only you recreated its extension.
    Also, if you updated today, be sure you re-applied license.

    vali

    P.S Hope I correctly understand the "scenario"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Vali,

    No, the sequence of events is:

    2 days ago: Installed v7, setup remote Polycom, registers ok, placed call, rings, user picks up, but 1 way audio: local user hears remote user but remote user does not hear local user
    yesterday: a) Upgraded to latest release.
    yesterday: b) I wanted to test also the other way around: local user dialing extension of remote user. It didn't even register or ring. (It didn't occur to me to test remote to local)
    today: a) I set up Wireshark on both sides, and I saw the 407 proxy authentication messages. I check 3CX logs (verbose) - nothing. I see extension status: remote - not registered.
    today: b) You mention about license. Good catch: I re-enter license, restart. But still phone doesn't register: 407 proxy authentication messages.

    Today also I placed a call using the SW phone and it registers and I can place a call but I have one way audio: remote hears local but local doesn't hear remote.

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  11. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi again

    I'm trying to help on which I know: if a remote phone could not hear a local one, the most appropriate test the remote can do is to dial 999 - the DR. If it does not hear the DR, then it means the remote tries to connect WITHOUT using Stun server, and should reconfigure its connection accordingly, using stun.

    Then, if a local phone does not hear a remote phone, put the local to dial 999. If it does not hear it, that means it tries to connect BY USING Stun server, so it should reconfigure its connection accordingly, without using stun.

    Of course, it's a good ideea to check - don't laugh - audio devices involved: the playback for the receiver, the microfon for the sender: if is the proper audio device set (I mean, if you listen on your computer be sure you haven't set as playback your headphones device) if the microfone - on recording - is selected and set to an acceptable level.

    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Vali,

    I did test the microphone and audio on my PC.
    My main issue now, though, is the 407 proxy authentication messages. Any ideas on that?

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  13. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi, Dan

    When I have such kind of problem and I'm sure the extension number, ID and pass I've set on the phone are OK (these are responsible for such kind of message), I try to connect using another phone with same authentication data. If the second one fails also, then I start to check from PBX - create a new test extension and then connect phones to this new one. If still the same error, I try to check PSTN lines if it's the case. Other things I don't have in my mind right now leading to a 407... However, any registration sequence is like this:
    - for success: REGISTER, 407, REGISTER, 200
    - for failure: REGISTER, 407, REGISTER, 403 (invalid id/pass) or REGISTER, 407, REGISTER, 404 (invalid extension)
    The same for INVITE and SUBSCRIBE

    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Dan,

    Without logs it is almost impossible to resolve your problem because nobody has input to be able to help you, sorry.
    "verbose" version of 3CXMediaserver.trace.log may provide some information about problems related to one way audio.
    "verbose" version of 3CXPhoneSystem.trace.log may provide some information about problems related to registration.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. drotkopf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stepan,

    Nothing show in the 3cx system logs, even though I set them at verbose.

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  16. William400

    William400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    At this stage to be able to review further we woudl recommend that you open a support ticket with the Verbose logs and capture of such a call so that we may review.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.