Outbound Call Delay

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by PCTurnkey, Nov 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PCTurnkey

As of a few weeks ago, our phone system developed a long delay when making outbound calls- usually around 15 seconds. There is zero delay when calling internal extensions. I haven't made any system changes or modifications in that time. I've reset the system and the Patton 4114 gateway we use. I don't believe this has to do with an outgoing rule that waits a certain amount of time before dialing since I always hit either 'send' or '#'.

Please help me troubleshoot this problem. I'm looking for suggestions on what settings could be responsible for this or other things to check. I'm new to 3CX (<1yr) and am still learning a lot about VoIP and this system.

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

The 3Cx log should show the time when the PBX receives the call from the set, and how long it takes to process it before sending out on a trunk. If there is no appreciable delay shown, then it may be a change in the settings of the extension itself, perhaps a new config file was downloaded?

The other delay could be once the call is passed on to your gateway, or VoIP provider.

3. PCTurnkey

From the log, it looks like the PBX logs the request from my handset immediately. After that, it looks like there is a bit of activity going on for the next 7-10 seconds. Then it looks like it completes the connection.
    Unfortunately, I don't understand what's going on in the log. I do see what looks like some failures, though, on different ports.
    It says [dialed number]@10.0.0.7:5060 has failed; cause: 487 request terminated. Same thing with port 5062. When it fails with port 5066 it says Cause: 502 Bad Gateway. Then it looks like it connects using 5064.

Does this make sense? Should I post the log?

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member