Outbound Caller number

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by arnevv, Oct 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arnevv

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have a problem with the outbound caller telephone number.
    When we call someone they see the number of the port of the PSTN device and not the DID.
    Example:
    PSTN Device: Patton 4554
    Port number: 10001
    DID: 3275158XX
    They get telephone number +33 10001 as caller ID instead of +33 3275158XX

    3CX Phonesystem: v10.0.24018.2322
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    298
    I'm a bit confused.

    If this is a PSTN gateway, then you will have no control over outgoing caller ID as it is set by the provider on a per line basis.
     
  3. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    273
    does he perhaps mean that inbound calls (from external callers) is showing up incorrectly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    298
    I was thinking that that might be the case but was waiting to see what his reply was. If that is indeed the case, then first check the 3CX logs to confirm that the trunk number is indeed coming into 3CX, from the gateway, on each call.

    Then...confirm that caller ID is working properly on each PSTN line by using a stand-alone caller ID device (no gateway).

    Are these lines new, was caller ID working previously?

    If it is not showing up, then you'll need to speak to your provider to see if they forgot to add the option to the line(s).

    If it is there, then check the caller Id options on the gateway and be sure that they are set correctly for your region/country/provider type caller ID.
     
  5. arnevv

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I try to make it clear.
    It's about making an outbound call to an external number, for example to my mobile phone.
    On my mobile phone it displays the number +33 10001 instead it should be +33 3275158XX
    The lines aren't new, it has worked for several months, so I don't understand why suddenly it displays the wrong number.
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    298
    I just looked up your gateway, it's ISDN you are using, not PSTN. So, yes, your provider can allow you to change the outgoing number. Why it would change, all of a sudden, I'm not sure, especially if you made no changes in the gateway or 3CX. It may be that your provider has just enabled customers to send out their own number.

    Now it comes down to...is It a setting in the gateway, or one in 3CX. I'm not familiar with that gateway, but there should be someone on the forum that is.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.