Outbound Calls on Windows 2003 SP1

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mattx, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear 3CX Community,

    We are switching from asterisk to a windows friendly PBX and I was surprised to see something so slick as 3CX running on Windows.
    It took some time to get fully familiar with but the results are nice.

    Unfortunately I have been making 12+ hour days here at the office in order to get outbound working with 3CX. This issue is horrible and hopefully there is an anwser.

    My Temporary Setup:
    - Bell Modem/Router (routing taken over by linksys)
    - Linksys Router WRT54G (ports 10-50000) pointing to the Windows 2003 SP1 server & firewall off
    - 3CX (latest version)
    - 2 VOIP providers
    - Aastra 9133i phones

    Problem:
    - Both VoIP providers cannot be reached with outbound calls
    - The problem is driving me insane :( and I am at a point were I really started to like it.

    Errors:
    19:46:47.765 MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty [MS210002] C:15.3:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 74.14.xx:9002(9003)
    19:46:47.609 CallLeg::eek:nFailure [CM503003]: Call(15): Call to sip:647xxxxxxx@sip.enhancedvoip.net:5060 has failed; Cause: 408 Request Timeout; internal
    19:46:15.171 MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty [MS210002] C:15.2:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 74.14.xx:9000(9001)
    19:46:15.062 MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty [MS210000] C:15.1:Offer received. RTP connection: 192.168.1.101:3000(3001)
    19:46:15.046 CallCtrl::eek:nSelectRouteReq [CM503004]: Call(15): Calling: VoIPline:10000@[Dev:sip:blabla@sip.enhancedvoip.net:5060, Dev:sip:blabla@sip.enhancedvoip.net:5060, Dev:sip:blabla@sip.enhancedvoip.net:5060, Dev:sip:blabla@sip.enhancedvoip.net:5060]

    19:46:15.031 CallCtrl::eek:nSelectRouteReq [CM503010]: Making route(s) to "0647xxxxxxx"[sip:0647xxxxxxx@192.168.1.xxx:5060]
    19:46:15.031 CallLeg::setRemoteSdp Remote SDP is set for legC:15.1
    19:46:15.015 Extension::printEndpointInfo [CM505001]: Ext.820: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: AAstra;Mod: 9133i;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Aastra 9133i/1.4.2.3000 Brcm Callctrl/1.5.1.0 MxSF/v3.2.8.45] Transport: [sip:192.168.1.xxx:5060]

    19:46:14.968 CallCtrl::eek:nIncomingCall [CM503001]: Call(15): Incoming call from Ext.820 to "0647xxxxxxx"[sip:0647xxxxxxx@192.168.1.xxx:5060]
    19:46:14.953 CallLeg::eek:nNewCall [CM500002]: Info on incoming INVITE:
    INVITE sip:0647xxxxxxx@192.168.1.xxx:5060 SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.1.101;branch=z9hG4bK12d0a8b7c
    Max-Forwards: 70
    Contact: "820"[sip:820@192.168.1.101;transport=udp]
    To: "0647xxxxxxx"[sip:0647xxxxxxx@192.168.1.xxx:5060]
    From: "820"[sip:820@192.168.1.xxx:5060];tag=03c68ec48d615c1
    Call-ID: c53b823f5eb64596e3cb73fcd1e21958@192.168.1.101
    CSeq: 89951180 INVITE
    Allow: NOTIFY, REFER, OPTIONS, INVITE, ACK, CANCEL, BYE, INFO
    Proxy-Authorization: Digest response="8651c1b76b818a0aba7f073bb120ae72",username="820",realm="3CXPhoneSystem",nonce="12848730374:cbb630ad39907e55879a70bc51752395",algorithm=MD5,uri="sip:0647xxxxxxx@192.168.1.xxx:5060"
    Supported: timer, replaces
    User-Agent: Aastra 9133i/1.4.2.3000 Brcm Callctrl/1.5.1.0 MxSF/v3.2.8.45
    Allow-Events: talk, hold, conference
    Content-Length: 0

    many thanks in advance!!
     
  2. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Serious Outbound Call Issues with 3CX

    Not sure if Windows 2003 SP1 is causing all these horrible issues.
    I am trying it again on Win XP SP2
    Hopefully it has better results.
     
  3. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Serious Outbound Call Issues with 3CX

    The issue was the Windows 2003 SP1 server.
    3CX v5 is said to be compatible with SP2 I guess this was the major issue.
    Anyways hope some people out there can use this information.
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Serious Outbound Call Issues with 3CX

    So, is it working now?
     
  5. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Serious Outbound Call Issues with 3CX

    On Windows XP Pro = Yes
    On Windows 2003 SP1 = No

    Both were fresh installs, does anybody know how I can completely turn off all security settings on SP1??
     
  6. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Serious Outbound Call Issues with 3CX

    Turning off the integrated firewall should do the trick, or you want to disable any other security? Like local security policy ?

    Cheers
     
  7. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turned off all the security without luck,

    I updated to SP2 for Windows 2003 but even after that with all security turned off no outgoing calls where possible.
    This is a strange problem.

    I guess I will be running 3CX on WinXP SP2 for now, until somebody finds an anwser to this problem.
     
  8. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    Finally got everything working. The problem was DNS related

    Main problem was as follow:
    I inherent the DNS from the router dynamically which was bad for 3CX.
    Once I hardcoded the DNS servers into the IP settings, 3CX was able to make outbound calls.
     
  9. Jared.Savage

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm facing the same issue with WinXP Pro SP2. No outbound calls are possible. I've now manually entered DNS settings into the TCP/IP config, but am still hitting the same problems. Any thoughts? I see a lot of people are having this issue. Is there an official response on it?
     
  10. Pentangle

    Pentangle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jared,

    Many people are experiencing issues because they don't know how to set up their underlying system in the first place. What would you expect 3CX to do in this instance?
    Besides, symptoms can be caused by many issues, so create a thread and post up your own issues - don't start mustering the cavalry until you've *proven* that you've not done something daft.
     
  11. Jared.Savage

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Pentangle,

    Sorry if I offended you somehow. I was just asking for an official response, as I'm getting a bit frustrated that there doesn't seem to be one on what is obviously an issue for multiple users. It's repeated here more than once. "v3 worked fine, v5 doesn't" Even if it's a matter of malconfiguration, there should be somewhere that aims to help users with that. To a degree, isn't that the point of this forum?

    I wasn't trying to come across as an expert here, and never claimed that I had done everything perfectly. I do know that I originally set up 3cx v3, and outbound was never an issue. I added our voip provider as a generic host, and everything worked fine for outbound calls. I'm not sure how I'm supposed to -prove- that I haven't done something "daft", further than posting the verbose server logs that 3cx is generating. They're posted in the thread I already started. Should I provide screen shots of the config pages?

    If I reinstall v3 and set up a generic voip provider, it works fine.
    If I connect directly to my sip provider via softphone it works fine.
    If I connect through 3cx v5 - outbound doesn't work.

    Again, I never claimed to be an expert, and I'm not sure what you mean by "underlying system" The server is running many other services without issue. The router is open on the ports where it should be (works with v3 just fine), and 3cx v5 was installed and setup in the same manner that v3 was.

    I'm not asking to have my hand held here, and I'm not mustering any cavalry. I've done a reasonable amount of troubleshooting here, and am unable to get this working. So, I've asked the forum for assistance. I think it's reasonable to want some sort of a response.
     
  12. aguilar

    aguilar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Mattx
    would you please give me more details about the dns config?

    thanks and regards
     
  13. Pentangle

    Pentangle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry Jared if I offended you, I just interpreted "is there an official response on this" as a demand that 3CX fix "the problem".

    For info, there are *many* permutations of configuration of your firewall(s)/dns/routing/IP stack/hosts file/added software/config typos/etc that result in a few basic failures to the layman (such as one way audio, lack of registration, etc). This is all without even considering 3CX yet, and is hence why I asked you to create a thread with your own experiences in it so that we can troubleshoot that issue rather than just tack a "me too" onto this thread when your problems may not in fact be related once we delve deeper.

    Mike.
     
  14. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I basically hardcoded the DNS parameters from my internet provider into the TCP/IP settings alongside a static IP and all the config settings.
    3CX works great now, but there are still some problems I am trying to resolve, which I will post soon.

    Regards,

    Matt
     

Share This Page