Outbound calls problem w/ GXW-4104

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ibekker, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. ibekker

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Created test environment: 3CX server, linksys 16 port switch, no DHCP - static IPs, GXW-4104, 3 PSTN lines, Granstream GSP-2020 (ext 101), BT-200 (ext-202). Set it up according to documentation, the rest of setting are default.
    Ext to ext call - OK.
    Incoming calls - OK - routed to 101 for now.
    Outging calls - just static instead of ringing. PSTN light on GXW is on.
    Dialed numebr does not ring. Server log shows that connection is made OK- "Created audio channel for Ln:10000@GSGateway(192.168.0.160:5008) w/Media server(192.168.0.1:7168)".
    Please help.
     
  2. ibekker

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, here's a log

    19:02:13.796 StratLink::eek:nHangUp [CM104001] Call(44): Ext.102 hung up call; cause: BYE; from IP:192.168.0.102
    19:01:32.156 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(44): Created audio channel for Ln:10000@GSGateway (192.168.0.160:5008) with Media Server (192.168.0.1:7168)
    19:01:32.156 StratInOut::eek:nConnected [CM104005] Call(44): Setup completed for call from Ext.102 to Ln:10000@GSGateway
    19:01:32.156 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(44): Created audio channel for Ext.102 (192.168.0.102:5004) with Media Server (192.168.0.1:7166)
    19:01:32.140 CallConf::eek:nProvisional [CM103003] Call(44): Ln:10000@GSGateway is ringing
    19:01:29.203 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(44): Incoming call from 102 (Ext.102) to sip:91847530XXXX@192.168.0.1:5060
     
  3. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the logs it appears 3CX is doing exactly what it should, the sequence seems correct. I would focus on the GXW-4104. I am not familiar with it myself but am 99.99% confident that is where the problem lies. Its a 4 port FXO gateway and you have indicated you have 3 PSTN lines - are all three lines connected? Have you verified that lines are not "off hook"? Does gateway indicate clearly which line it is accessing? Any chance its trying a port that does not have a line connected? Just throwing ideas out, sorry if it seems simplistic :(
     
  4. 5qg4

    5qg4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please check the local SIP port at GXW-4104 and the gateway port at 3CX. Both port much be matched.
     
  5. ibekker

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply.
    5qg4: Local SIP port is 5060, That's a default. Unless there is some other port i need to change. RPT port is set to 5004 - i have no idea what that is.
    Mirzab: Thanks for ideas. I found that 3cx will use as many lines as defined, so i had 3 lines defined in 3cx and GXW.

    I've deleted line #3 (10002) in 3cx and was able to dial out on line #2. I think that GXW unit is bad - it's going back to the vendor. Call quality was horrible - static and scratching. Don't know how much of it to attribute to unit and how much to specific setting - will be able to tell only after i get new unit. Thanks for replys! To be continued after i get new gateway. Any suggestions about choice of gateway are very much appreciated!
     
  6. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in the midst of setting one of these up myself. Just got it registered but haven't tried calling yet. Wanted to check here and see if there are other settings I need to do first.

    I've heard of the static issues which I'll check out. If it's bad I'm going to get the Patton unit. It's 2.5x more $$ but might be worth it. Might keep the 4104 for myself and use patton for clients with serious phone needs.
     
  7. AndrewRTS

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed an AudioCodes MP-114 FXO gateway this past week for a client. It was a little different to setup, but so far the call quality has been excellent. I still have the Grandstream in my office, but I'm thinking of changing.

    Good luck!
    -Andrew
     
  8. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know. The price of those is better too. I'll check them out a little more. You get what you pay for!

     
  9. LLangston

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just sent the Grandstream 4104 gateway and two phones - the 2000 Enterprise and the BT-200 back to the vendor. After a month and half of working with it and tweaking the settings the call quality was still bad - static, echos, drops in conversation - I won't bore you with the whole list. We are going with the AudioCodes MP114 Gateway and polycom phones.
     

Share This Page