Outbound Calls Without Prefix

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by murschil, May 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. murschil

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, i'm a little new to 3cx and i'm running 3cx v9 on windows server 2003. I'm trying to setup outbound calls without a prefix in front of the number. Did anybody know how i get that done?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    A lot depends on the dialling requirements in your local calling area. You can just base outbound rules on the number of digits dialled, that can cause problems that you may not discover until later. If all local calls begin with the same number, then that can be used in a rule, the same thing can be applied to all long distance calls. It all depends on where you are located and the numbers you dial.
     
  3. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi,

    it depends what is your national /local numbering plan. If you are located somewhere in Europe, where dialing long distance or local numbers is accomplished with dialing '0' and area code you may set outbound rule for numbers starting with '0' and omit zero digits (default is one digit).

    If you are located in North America you can do the same with digit '1', if it is not in conflict with your internal numbers (and another rule for your local area code, i.e. 1-nnn-xxx xxxx; in this case the earlier rule should strip these four digits, i.e. '1nnn' and the next rule should allow passing of the whole number '1 nnn xxx xxxx', as dialed). It is good in this case to change the Prefix for external call (PEC) in Advanced settings | Custom parameters to '1'.

    BR.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the states it is pretty straight forward. just build the rules for the required dialing sequences and the Pbx will try to match them via the outbound rules in the order that the rules appear.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. murschil

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to thank you all for your replies; but for some reason that i can't discover yet, this process doesn't work for me. after the outbound rule is setup in 3cx, all i only got a busy signal when i tried to dial out or number is not exist. Any other ideas?
     
  6. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    post your logs of a call as well as your outbound rules and trunk statuses.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    What is the order of your outbound rules - the first met match is used. Could this be the issue?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    What type of set are you calling out from? Some have internal "default" dialplans that may be incompatible with the digits you are dialling, and may need to be tweaked. If you look in the 3CX server logs and don't see a log of a failed call, then that might be your issue.
     
  9. murschil

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is my call log:
    08:42:56.769

    [CM503020]: Normal call termination. Reason: Not found

    08:42:56.769

    [CM503016]: Call(30): Attempt to reach <sip:12395372990@192.168.1.11;user=phone> failed. Reason: Not Found

    08:42:56.769

    [CM503014]: Call(30): No known route to target: <sip:12395372990@192.168.1.11;user=phone>

    08:42:56.754

    [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:12395372990@192.168.1.11;user=phone>

    08:42:56.754

    [CM505001]: Ext.1001: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Polycom;Mod: SoundPoint IP Series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, unable-no-sdp, no-recvonly] UserAgent: [PolycomSoundPointIP-SPIP_550-UA/3.3.1.0769] PBX contact: [sip:1001@192.168.1.11:5060;transport=TCP]

    08:42:56.754

    [CM503001]: Call(30): Incoming call from Ext.1001 to <sip:12395372990@192.168.1.11;user=phone>

    08:25:07.769

    [CM102001]: Authentication failed for SipReq: REGISTER 192.168.1.11 tid=-95f8c8b5 cseq=REGISTER contact
     
  10. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't look like your SIP trunk is registered since it is throwing an authentication error.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    Do you have a rule, similar to... digit "1", 11 digits long, remove none, prepend none, send out on your outgoing trunk group?
     
  12. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    the outgoing line registered? it seems that the authentication issue might be to blame.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.