• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Outbound Calls Without Prefix

Status
Not open for further replies.

murschil

Free User
Reaction score
Hi guys, i'm a little new to 3cx and i'm running 3cx v9 on windows server 2003. I'm trying to setup outbound calls without a prefix in front of the number. Did anybody know how i get that done?

A lot depends on the dialling requirements in your local calling area. You can just base outbound rules on the number of digits dialled, that can cause problems that you may not discover until later. If all local calls begin with the same number, then that can be used in a rule, the same thing can be applied to all long distance calls. It all depends on where you are located and the numbers you dial.

Hi,

it depends what is your national /local numbering plan. If you are located somewhere in Europe, where dialing long distance or local numbers is accomplished with dialing '0' and area code you may set outbound rule for numbers starting with '0' and omit zero digits (default is one digit).

If you are located in North America you can do the same with digit '1', if it is not in conflict with your internal numbers (and another rule for your local area code, i.e. 1-nnn-xxx xxxx; in this case the earlier rule should strip these four digits, i.e. '1nnn' and the next rule should allow passing of the whole number '1 nnn xxx xxxx', as dialed). It is good in this case to change the Prefix for external call (PEC) in Advanced settings | Custom parameters to '1'.

BR.

in the states it is pretty straight forward. just build the rules for the required dialing sequences and the Pbx will try to match them via the outbound rules in the order that the rules appear.