Outbound Direct SIP Calls

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by phxlad, Apr 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phxlad

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can make direct SIP calls from my Polycom phone and it appears not to go via the 3CX box. I want to be able to forward the call to a sip number. What "rule" do I need to use to enable outbound sip calls?

    Note I do have the Allow calls to external SIP URL's checked and in bound SIP calls are working.
     
  2. brianrowe

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. Would like to know what rule I need to setup to make outgoing sip sip calls.
     
  3. phxlad

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do me a favor and post a reply if you ever get an answner because I still cannot get to do outbound SIP calls.
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need any specific outbound rule. Just 'dial' external SIP address like Alice@somewhere.net, or Bob@62.64.18.27
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. phxlad

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. i have a unregistered phone with forward all calls enable to outside line name@sip.com
    2. Out bound rule where all calls from my extension go via broadvoice

    If I dial the extension then Broad voice says you are unable to make this call.

    The call works if i enter name@sip.com
     
  6. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    We do not have 'Forward to SIP address' option for extensions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. brianrowe

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is not the best solution, but it works....

    Setup a softphone like eyeBeam (you can setup multiple SIP accounts on one softphone) and then on the softphone forward that SIP account to the outside SIP URI you need the extension to go to.

    As I said, not the best solution, but with one softphone you can handle multiple extensions.
     
  8. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    TWIMC

    By some strange reason I can not answer ICQ pager messages. So, please, either PM me, or use ICQ properly (not pager).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.