Outbound rule(s)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cfive, Sep 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi,

    I have a Patton 4114 4 FXO gateway.

    3 of the PSTN lines (ports) belong to entity A, while the 4th belongs to entity B.

    I can route the calls OK on the incoming side, but can't seem to find a way for outgoing calls. When I attempt to create an outgoing rule, the only "route" available is the Gateway itself, not the individual ports on the gateway.

    Is there a way to tie certain extensions to certain port(s)? I might be in some trouble if not ;-(.

    Thanks, Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can drill down the outbound rules by extension, or you can isolate the lines using a prefix.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi,

    Yes, thanks, I can see that - but when I get to the "route" part of the rule - only the gateway device is listed, not the ports on the device.

    Should I be able to select the individual ports?

    Thanks - Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you added the Patton, did it create multiple trunks or just one?

    If it didn't, then you have to split each port off on the Patton. I am not 100% sure how to do this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    5
    The ports/trunks status shows 4 "virtual extension numbers", so I presume they are split out. While the virtual extension numbers are all unique, the "Name" field is the same for all 4.

    - Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    5
    I found this: http://www.3cx.com/forums/routing-outbound-calls-to-particular-ports-on-pstn-gateway-10070.html#p51719 in the partner forum.

    Basically, add the Patton, but remove the port(s) you don't want in this "route". Keep at least 1 port, though ;-). Add it again, different name, same idea. You end up with multiple gateways and can now specify each as a "route".

    Thanks, Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.