Outlook dialer

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by iamgreen, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was reading in the marketing materials for 3cx PBX that is it possible to dial a contact from Outlook. I can't seem to find in the technical documentation how to set this up. Can anyone give me a hint? :)
     
  2. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may be asking about Exchange 2007 integration http://www.3cx.com/support/exchange-server-2007.html available only in the Enterprise Edition http://http://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison.html. To the best of my knowledge this is the only method of direct integration between 3CX and Outlook type features.

    Of course if all you are seeking is the ability to dial numbers directly from within Outlook Contacts, you are seeking eyeBeam Softphone http://www.counterpath.com/eyebeam-features.html paid version, not X-Lite. This softphone integrates with Outlook, installs a button on the Contact card, allowing you to dial Outlook numbers via the softphone (that runs on 3CX).
     
  3. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wahooo

    It looks like an I answered my own guestion. There is a little click2dial enabler that I can download from

    http://www.enum.at/SIP-TAPI.479.0.html?&L=9

    I installed this on my desktop computer, configured it, and POW. I am able to open a contact in Outlook and click the dial button. It works like MAGIC.

    -Johnny
     
  4. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess you could do that too :eek:

    Never thought of that since I already had eyeBeam. Works OK? Easy setup?
     
  5. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it works like a top.

    Open Outlook and find a contact that you want to call. Click the call Button and select which contact number you want to use.

    Your phone will ring, answer it and you will hear your hold music while the session is setup, then you are calling out. It's pretty kewl.

    -Johnny
     
  6. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works Like a charm... Thks :p

    Cheers
     
  7. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might add, that I recently discovered that the new version of the 3CX VOIP client has a TAPI dialer built into it. Just open the control panel, Phone/Modem Applet and make sure that the 3CX client is listed. Then you can dial from Outlook. I quit using the Enum SipTapi. The new 3CX client has a smoother version of click2dial that uses the MAKECALL function rather than simple call bridging. It works great.
     
  8. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't had that problem. We are still working on the ATA not dialing the number right.
     
  9. aguilar

    aguilar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    thanks for the tips, this work great

    cheers
     
  10. Lori

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wahooo

    Have installed the dialer, it rings but it does not dial. Apparently the problem is my ATA (Netcom V100) What ATA are you using?

    Lori
     
  11. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the Grandstream 4104 (suxors) but I am not sure that is the problem. Did you go into the options for SipTapi and assign the servername and ext?
     

Share This Page