Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Overhead paging

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by chrissnap, Mar 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrissnap

I am really new to this so will need a little extra explaining if possible. :)

I am running 3cx 12.0.3xxxxxx, this replaced an older Avaya system.

There is an existing Avaya Universal paging module that has always been used for overhead paging.

The Avaya system had 2 extensions that played 2 different recorded messages.

I have been trying to read some and make heads or tails of this, but am needing some help getting it setup. It appears that I need a ATA in order to interface between the 3cx system and the Avaya Universal paging module, so I purchased a Patton M-ATA. I also setup an extension and registered the M-ATA with it. I also figure I will create multiple extensions for the warnings and register the M-ATA with each and depending on which one is called it can play a different recorded message.

On the Avaya Universal paging module there is a Page Port Input which I figure I am to plug the M-ATA.

Now, I figure If I call the Extension, I will be able to speak through the overhead?

Next step. Can anyone explain how I get my recordings to play when the appropriate extension is called?

I hope this makes sense and thanks for any and all help.

~Confused.

2. craigreilly

craigreilly Well-Known Member

3cx is not setup to do this.
    You might be able to call the Paging Extension. Then transfer to an IVR which plays the message. IVR hangs up at end of message.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. netswork

netswork Active Member