Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Paging large number of units

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by RCC, May 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCC

    RCC

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All

    I have a system with about 450 units on it and I need to be able to page them all with one call. Unfortunately the units are not able to accept multicast so this method is not possible. If I split the units into 8 Ring Groups of <64 units then paging works fine, but you have to dial 8 numbers and repeat the message for each call, which is not what the customer wants.

    Has anyone come across a unicast method (multiple bridged PBXs etc.) that allows the 64 page group members cap to be exceeded?

    Rod
     
  2. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    170
    Hi
    You have too many devices to page...450 are far too much...
    You cannot use a technology designed for maximum 20 or 50 vs 450... the traffic generated will be unacceptable..

    But reading this over one more time, I must say you found a very cool way to bypass this.. using multiple ring groups. Nice one!! I did not understand the 8 digit part. Make a flow of what you did..

    Also **TIP** - if you want pm me and I can give you a tip of how to bypass the 64 calls because the 64 calls is there for a reason. Thats the amount of ports we allocate - enough to make 64 calls. (4 ports per call). If we increase the ports, you get to make more paging calls. But we need to "steal" ports from other services example IVR.. We can discuss what your usage is and I think we can find a service that is not heavily used.

    But I dont have the exact procedure now.. and it's somewhere deep in a config. So Ill get back on you..

    Check RC1.. We made a release today of new 15.5..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RCC

    RCC

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks nickybrg
    To clarify, the application is a door intercom system for a large building. The intention is that the units can be paged using a manager's handset and an announcement made to the occupants, e.g "There is an emergency, please evacuate the building".

    This works really well on small systems, but this system has around 450 units and I have found it is not possible to page all of the units at once using a single 3CX server, the limit is 64 units. As a temporary measure I have created 8 Ring Groups (set to Paging) each with less than 64 extension members, these are numbered 8001 to 8008. So instead of just dialling one number to page all of the 450 units my customer has to dial 8001, make the announcement, hang up, dial 8002, make the announcement, hang up, dial 8003, make the announcement... etc. until all of the ring groups have been paged.

    What I'm looking for is any way that the number of paged units may be increased so I can reduce the number of ring groups that have to be called. No other features like IVR, Call Groups, Conference Room, etc. are being used.

    I wondered if having a master server and separate bridged servers for each ring group would be an option to reduce the processing power or ports required to achieve this on a single server, however I cannot find a way of paging to more than one bridged server at a time.

    I have also looked at trying to create a Ring Group of the 8 Ring Groups, but it is not possible to make a Ring Group of Virtual Extensions.

    Your thoughts and help greatly appreciated.

    By the way, at the moment the server has a 4 Call licence of V12.5.

    Rod
     
  4. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    170
    You need to update to the latest version.
    V15.0 and V15.5 (IVR_RTPFIRST & IVR_RTPLAST)
    4 ports per call.
    Current port allocation is 256 ports / 4 = 64 calls.
    Increase this RESPONSIBLY. Don't exhaust other services.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. RCC

    RCC

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Nicky, I'll check out the upgrade.

    Rod
     
  6. RCC

    RCC

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nicky

    I just want to make sure I understand this right before I do anything drastic! Can you confirm please that IVR and paging uses the same range of ports (on my system IVR_RTPFIRST = 40610, IVR_RTPLAST = 40866, total 256 allocated ports), IVR uses 2 per call (128 concurrent calls) and paging uses 4 per call (64 concurrent calls)? Therefore if I want 450 concurrent pages I would need 1800 ports allocated, i.e. 40610 - 42410? If this is the case I will slowly increase the number of ports allocated to make sure the system stays stable and within the capabilities of the server.

    Regards
    Rod
     
  7. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    170
    good perfect. Like this
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.