Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Panasonic KX-HDV1xx series

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Psot, Dec 4, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello people, we are using Yealinks in our office but we received a Panasonic KX-HDV130 phone today and i have been trying to make it work with no avail.

    Are there any provisioning profiles for it, or any nice guide that can help?

    Thanks.
     
  2. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    You can configure it manually, it works normally with 3CX, also KX-HDV230 tested.
    I haven't come upon provisioning templates, but I guess you can adapt easily templates from KX-UT series, if you need to provision many phones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    186
    I am not aware of anyone ever getting these to work myself but it has been asked before:
    https://www.3cx.com/community/threads/panasonic-kx-tgp500b01.50248/

    If they were able to speak to 3CX it would be a manual setup that would require you to log into the web interface of the phone and configure a SIP Server address and authentication username and password.

    The additional downsides to using an un-supported phone even if you can get them talking to 3CX are:

    * Manual configuration, in manual configuration mode a reset would factory default them. Provisioned phones do not have this issue.
    * They will not work remotely (STUN, SBC, Hosted deployments).
    * You cannot firmware update or reboot/re-provision from the 3CX Phones interface.
    * You will not have support with these phones.

    You need to be fully aware of what the situation is. But glad you are using Yealinks also so you can see this for yourself.
     
  4. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i am aware of the downside of an unsupported phone, i just wanted to check if anyone actually succeeded in making them work.

    I know how to set a phone up manually without provisioning, i have some yealinks set up like that, but the Panasonic refuses to register.
    It seems it just wont work with 3CX, too bad.
     
  5. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    No, the phone works with 3CX without issues, I have more than 20 pcs manually configured for a customer, as well as HDV230 (including BLF buttons). They preferred them because of white color.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Psot likes this.
  6. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder what i am doing wrong then :)
    Ill dig some more, if you remember something i should know, let me know please :)

    By the way, i checked server event log and nothing appears in there.. strange.
     
  7. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    Here are screen shots from KX-HDV230, the same for KX-HDV130, nothing special infact:
    line1 settings.png
    Extension 64, 3CX address: 10.252.6.156
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Edi Kojsi likes this.
  8. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    Direct call pickup configuration -- *20*
    direct call pickup.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    323
    From the looks of the GUI, they have a similar requirement to some Gigasets, that I've manually configured, in that they require the server address in (almost?) all of the fields.
     
  10. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, appreciate it.
    Will have to double check i put the address in all the fields tomorrow since i have left the office right now.

    One thing to note is that i am trying to register through vpn, the ip of the phone is 192.168.1.xx and the 3CX server is at 192.168.0.xx .
    Yealinks work fine, maybe the panasonic needs some tuning, will give it some more time tomorrow.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have 2 gigasets setup- will compare to those too... :)
     
  12. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    There is nothing special about VPN, you have to configure the phone as working in the LAN segment of the PBX, no NAT, no STUN.
    This customer uses a cloud PBX, connection to his site -- via VPN (layer 3 routing, no NAT – important).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    Check whether they register to 3CX PBX with their local address from remote network, via VPN, i.e. 192.168.1.x.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    323
    If you are manually configuring, just set the subnet mask of the set, as 255.255.0.0...if needed.
     
  15. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    If VPN is properly configured, this is not needed, in contrary mask 255.255.0.0 will disrupt operations.

    If two segments are 192.168.0.0/24 and 192.168.1.0/24 traffic between them should be routed through corresponding gateways, e.g. 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.1.1, without NAT. Otherwise, if netmask is broader, the traffic will not be routed through gateway and there will be no communication between the PBX and the phones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #15 sip.bg, Dec 4, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
    Edi Kojsi likes this.
  16. Psot

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help guys, unfortunately it just would not register when at the vpn'd building so i moved it and it worked immediately.
    The only thing is this is happening, which doesnt seem to affect anything, but i am wondering if you guys know why it might be happening.
    Check attached picture, ignore the deleted ip, i am talking about the 0.0.0.0 ip registered too.

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. sip.bg

    sip.bg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    220
    Check these:

    1. Have you configured NAT, STUN, etc. in your Panasonic sets? If so, better factory reset the unit and configure it again -- only SIP settings, as screen-shot I sent you before. Network settings should contain only local network settings.

    2. Check carefully your VPN, there should be no NAT involved. The phones must register with their local addresses -- either from 192.168.0.0/24 (local to the PBX) and from 192.168.1.0/24 (remote over VPN). If you see other addresses, there is something not configured properly -- either with VPN or with phone network settings (see p.1).

    3. You are registering the phone to local address of the PBX or public one ? Over VPN, if configured properly, you should register only to local address of the PBX, i.e. 192.168.0.xx.

    I have many Panasonic phones registered over VPN, all of them work properly without issues.
    The above checklist is valid for any brand of phones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.