Panasonic KX-NCP500

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by skeep, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skeep

Hi all,

Im new to this VOIP stuff! How can I link a Panasonic KX-NCP500 VOIP system to a 3CX server? The Panasonic is on another site but we are linked via a 10mbit circuit. We want to use 3cx on its own eventually but in the meantime the two systems will need to be linked.

Could you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Skeep

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

Linking two PBX's isn't an easy task. You will never get much more than being able to call extensions from one to the other. To do that you've have to have trunks from 3CX register onto lines from your current board (Have to be SIP lines of course) and trunks from your existing board register with lines from 3CX. Of course the dialplans on both have to accommodate dialling from one to another. If you want access to outside trunks, well... they have to either be bridged with both boards at the same time, messy and NOT recommended, or you have to have a set of new trunks, just for the 3CX board. That means no incoming outside calls without a new phone number.

If you are serious about the eventual replacement of your current board it's best to build the 3Cx board in parallel and do lots of testing after hours with it connected to your live trunks. Only cut it over when you are sure that you have covered all possible calling/routing scenarios.

3. skeep

all I need is the ability to call each others extension. To do this in 3CX do I need to create a generic Voip provider to a SIP extension on the Panasonic box?

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member