Panasonic KX-TGP500 DECT not ringing to all handsets

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by 3CXusername, Dec 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    Good Day,

    Ring group doesn't ring all handsets. Often random handsets.

    3CX Log example (with no other concurrent calls):

    Dev:sip:4704@10.1.101.53:5090] from L:1672.1[Line:10001<<5559995555] failed, cause: Cause: 486 Busy Here/INVITE from 10.1.101.53:5080
    01-Dec-2014 09:43:22.374 [CM503003]: Call(C:1672): Call to <sip:4703@192.168.101.10:5060> has failed; Cause: 486 Busy Here/INVITE from 192.168.101.53:5080
    01-Dec-2014 09:43:22.354 Leg L:1672.4[Extn] is terminated: Cause: 486 Busy Here/INVITE from 192.168.1.53:5070
    01-Dec-2014 09:43:22.350 Call to T:RingAll:9000@[Dev:sip:4701@10.1.101.53:5060,Dev:sip:4701@192.168.101.51:5062,Dev:sip:4702@192.168.101.53:5070,Dev:sip:4702@192.168.101.52:5062,Dev:sip:4703@192.168.101.53:5080,
    Dev:sip:4704@10.1.101.53:5090] from L:1672.1[Line:10001<<5559995555] failed, cause: Cause: 486 Busy Here/INVITE from 192.168.101.53:5070
    01-Dec-2014 09:43:22.334 [CM503003]: Call(C:1672): Call to <sip:4702@192.168.101.10:5060> has failed; Cause: 486 Busy Here/INVITE from 192.168.101.53:5070
    01-Dec-2014 09:43:21.561 [CM503025]: Call(C:1672): Calling T:RingAll:9000@


    Setup:
    *inbound rule (main DIDs) to Ring group (9000) to 4 handsets
    *Panasonic: One base (KX-TGP500B04 fw12.90) and 4 handsets (KX-TPA50).
    *3CX v12 SP6.1 Pro (4 SC)
    *Using 3CX panasonic_kt500.ph.xml template
    *1:1 - Handheld to Extension.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    A little more info is needed.

    In your case you have the Panasonic Dect phone...which is a nice model BTW. However, you have not told us how it is provisioned (manually?). I think this phone may also support SLA internally to the base station.

    The 486 is either due to the handsets having the same extensions programmed into them and one is currently engaged in a call (I saw the note of 1:1), or they are set to DND. If you change the ring strategy to prioritize, does it work then? Even if one handset if currently engaged?

    I have one programmed for a ring all and it works fine. Unfortunately it is in a customer site and I cannot access the webpage due to how Pany has the webpage timeouts, otherwise I would have looked at it as it has been in use since 2010. It was manually provisioned.
     
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,750
    Likes Received:
    285
    How many simultainious calls does the Panasonic base unit support? I have several Gigaset A610 bases and even though I can register 6 handsets and the same number of accounts, it will only support 2 IP and one analogue call at the same time.
     
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Leejor,

    The unit will accommodate 6 handsets, 8 registrations and 3 simultaneous calls. An interesting point you raise. I was of the opinion that a call would be considered only when the call was answered and the RTP stream flowing. So, to your point, it would be interesting to see what might happen if the ring group was reduced to 3.

    It just so happens that at the site where I have the same set-up with a ring group.......there are only 3 extensions involved.

    Please test and let us know.
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,750
    Likes Received:
    285
    Unfortunatly, as i discovered with the Gigasets...If I were to register all six handsets to one base, and provision the base with six different extension numbers, then put all six extensions into the same ring group, only two will actually ring when a call is made to the ring group. While in a residential situation, this probably doesn't present a problem, as there is less chance that two VoIP accounts will be ringing at the same time, However when using extensions and ring groups, with a PBX, you can have issues.

    I ended up having to add additional bases and "spread" the handsets across them to allow all to ring.
     
  6. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi,

    Same “problem” occur with the Yealink W52P.
    The W52P Base support 5 handsets and 4 simultaneous calls at one time.
    But when you add 5 handsets to the Base, only 4 handsets will ring when there is an incoming call.
    This is by design. Nothing to be done.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    All - Thanks for contributing. Very interesting to hear feedback on other DECT solutions out there.

    For provisioning I followed the 3CX documentation:
    https://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/Provisioning_pana_KX-TGP500b01/

    DND is not enabled on any.

    Here was our setup:

    *Ring Group 1 (ring all)
    **Extension1 (Panasonic 1 and Yealink t46)
    **Extension2 (Panasonic 2 and Yealink t46)
    **Extension3 (Panasonic 3)
    **Extension4 (Panasonic 4)

    Testing (dial only not pickup) various Ring Group configurations had too many inconsistent results to report (ie. some times 3 Panasonic phones would ring and other times only 2 when you only have 3 in the Ring Group).

    A solution that seems to be working at the moment was to create a new extension in 3CX. Add this extension to a line on the Panasonic base and add all the handhelds to that line's matrix. Essentially moving the ring group to the Panasonic itself.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #7 3CXusername, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.